You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Recent Obamacare Experience

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Paragraph 1: This is about the state of insurance coverage before the ACA. I agree that there a lot of issues with the current system (see paragraph 3). The system before was absymal from a state and national perspective. That doesn't mean it was terrible for everyone. It was collectively worse than the current system. Again, that does not mean the current system is utopia -- far from it. (see paragraph 3).

Paragraph 2: I sincerely was trying to help here. I am on the board for a non-profit with employees. Since the ACA was passed, I have spent weeks in total, reviewing group plans, individual plans, state and federal requirements for employers and employees, talking with experts and our employees. I am still surprised how many people do not know that the prices listed on the exchange will be reduced by subsidies for the people that qualify for them. That does not say the current system is utopia. It says that I was trying to help you.

Paragraph 3: The current system has a lot of flaws. Some of those flaws are in the ACA itself. Others are in the state implementation of it and state oversight of insurance companies and health care providers. I gave you some actionable information relevant to the problem you illustrated. The plans people are offered are not automatically a good deal -- and it takes a lot of work to make them better. The people affected by the plans have to constantly advocate and push the people who currently oversee the system.

My recommendation? Go without insurance. Be bold. A relative of mine did that. He didn't like insurance, even though he could afford it. He died a couple weeks ago from a repairable heart issue. He left his four boys without a father. But he died with his pride intact.

An alternative recommendation? Pay the insurance. Gripe. How you gripe is up to you. Shaking your fist at the sky on the blockchain. Or to the folks that can change what you are facing. The first is easier, for sure!

My guess is that you will move to Mexico.

Sort:  

Thanks for your input. My Spanish needs to get better before I move to Mexico.

At least you are in Arizona -- it will be easy to practice your Spanish! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 59502.70
ETH 2577.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43