Star Wars Themed Lands at Disney Parks Set to Open in 2019!

in #life7 years ago

My name is hanshotfirst and I am a ridiculously huge dork. Thank you fellow members of the ridiculously huge dork support group for being so gosh darn supportive.

Thanks to you, I really felt like I had a chance to one day count myself as a "normal adult male". It seemed that with every passing day, it was becoming easier and easier to fight my dork-like urges.

Unfortunately, I have fallen off the wagon. I have had an utter and complete relapse. I fear I am now a bigger dork than ever.

Today, something happened that destroyed all of that progress that you helped me to attain.

Today, I received an email update from The Disney Park Blog informing me that...

The Star Wars-Themed Lands at Disney Parks are going to open in 2019!!!!!



This is Disney's concept art for the park. I am guessing that you can't actually fly in via an X-Wing, but it is Disney where anything is possible... if you have enough money.

OMG! I am in full on hardcore dork mode now! (Maybe that was a poor choice of words... but STAR WARS!!!!)

Yes. I subscribe to the Disney Parks blog. I am sorry.

But back to STAR WARS LAND!

According to the blog, during the Walt Disney Company's quarter 1 Earnings call, CEO Bob Iger announced that Star Wars themed lands will open at California's Disneyland and Florida's Disney's Hollywood Studios in 2019. These 14-acre additions are the largest expansions to the parks in the history of time. Although an exact date was not given, I can combat this by simply buying tickets for all 365 days in 2019. No problem!

The construction, which began in April 2016, is estimated to cost $1 billion dollars. (See I told you anything is possible... if you have enough money).

One of the new rides is designed to allow patrons to fly the Millennium Falcon. (I just fainted. Is it 2019 yet?)

Disney had previously released other versions of concept art including this...



I hope Disney realizes how high my hopes are after seeing this.

My greatest hope for this project is that Disney will attempt to top Universal's The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. If they manage to pull that off, this will be the greatest amusement park in any galaxy. If you have never been to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, it is simply amazing. Universal spent so much time, effort, and money to perfectly recreate every possible detail from the Harry Potter series. If Disney manages to match this level of detail, I may just move in.

And here is where I would live...



The garbage will do!

There are so many amazing possibilities.

I honestly cannot wait to go.

Disney likes to open parks in the summer, so I guess I will start my countdown based on the summer of 2019.

Only around 925 more days to go!

Who else is in?

Sources
https://disneyparks.disney.go.com/blog/2017/02/star-wars-themed-lands-at-disney-parks-set-to-open-in-2019/?dpb
http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-star-wars-land-20170207-story.html
https://disneyparks.disney.go.com/blog/2016/04/take-a-360-degree-look-at-star-wars-themed-land-groundbreaking-at-disneyland-park-2/

Image Links 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

@HanShotFirst, your post has been chosen by @STEEMNEWS.ONLINE as one of today's promoted posts for its excellent content. We've upvoted, resteemed and published it through Facebook & Twitter.

As the author of a SNO featured article, you've been awarded one TRAIL coin. Please stop by the SteemTrail Discord server to learn more about how to claim your TRAIL coin. You will need an Open Ledger account to do so.

STEEMNEWS.ONLINE is the @SteemTrail for #news and watches the #steemnews tag most closely. Please consider supporting excellent news articles by making steemnews.online one of your operators on Streemian, in addition to steemtrail.

Thank you for your hard work and contribution of excellent content to Steemit.

If you would rather not be promoted by STEEMNEWS.ONLINE, please inform us by replying to this comment and we will honor your request.

Thanks! I am really excited about this. Thanks for spreading the word about it!

I too am a HUGE Star Wars dork haha. That's why I am going to start following you. I'm new to Steemit btw, so I'm a NOOB and a dork.

Welcome to the platform! We need as many dorks and geeks as we can get! ;)

Sorry I have been pretty inactive on here, with my issues dude.

I am here to check in and say hi and I encourage your dorkness.

This is pretty huge news.

YUGE. (:

Have a nice end to your week, sorry my life is crappy LOL. If anyone can fly in to this place in an X-Wing Fighter, my bets are on:

Hang in there man. If I get the X-Wing I'll be sure to swing by and pick you up.

Thanks for the encouragement!

Bring pizza.

and a mortgage payment LOL

Thanks brother, we do not talk as much as I would like, but I know you care, you are good people.

Okay, now I need to plan a US trip with the family in 2019 :)

I told my kids 2020 yesterday just to be safe lol. I have never been to California so this will be a great excuse. I've been to the one in Orlando 4 times (did I mention I'm a dork). Have you been to the U.S. before?

Dude, if you go all that way and do not meet up with the epic @runridefly --- I will be very, very disappointed brethren.

I just started following that guy. He's a really good guy!

Will follow him :) Note that I will be very soon in California, but probably no time for doing anything but work ;)

Bless you, you need serious help lol

Yes. Yes I do. But there is only one cure for what I have...

More Star Wars!

No No No slowly back away from then slowly turn around and slap yourself hard lol

Wow. That felt great!

Have i cured you lol

Sadly no. But I do appreciate your efforts.

Your far to gone, no one can save you now

"I just fainted"--I choked on my drink! LOL And I love star wars, so YES I'm in, that's awesome! (Also firmly in the Han shot first camp, it's what makes his character development so great, the change in story line was WEAK )

I could not agree more! He's a scoundrel. That is part of the charm. And no trained bounty hunter is missing from two feet away...

https://steemit.com/life/@hanshotfirst/what-is-in-a-name-for-me-there-is-quite-a-bit

You had me at Inigo Montoya..I can recite entire scenes from that movie!

That was a fantastic article, Hans hot first, oh God, hahaha! I guess since I got your name right away I am conceding dorkdom ;) The only thing I have going for me is I'm still in my thirties LOL (not for a whole lot longer though ;)

LOL. I love the Princess Bride. I've used a lot of images from the movies in my posts.

I really laughed when I figured out the funny things people thought my name was.

And embrace being a dork. It is just so much fun!

I think dork is code word for cool, and I embrace it completely ;) I really laughed as you described figuring out the funny things people thought your name was, and the assumptions they might have made about it! I'm laughing just thinking about it again. You write humor really well, which is not easy to do! ;)

That is very kind of you to say. Thank you. Happy Whiskey Wednesday to you!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

very scary friend

Those sources are all #fakenews.

I'll believe it when I see it on a reliable source like: http://starwarsfuckingrocks.tumblr.com/

That is amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13