You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Should Money NOT Be Able To Buy?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Let's get the serious response out of the way.

I liked your use of the extreme examples of what money could possibly buy (speeding, transplants, better genetic code, etc.) But honestly that already exists to a lesser extent. Children of the rich have access to better food, better education, and better medical services. So even if they don't have a genetic advantage, their environment has so many advantages that it can trump the genetic advantages that a person without money happened to be born with.

Sort:  

ya it's true, I was meant to go from that to show that in many countries there are premium lanes where you can go faster if you pay, the wealthy are already able to genetically remove certain diseases and/or genes that increase susceptibility to cancer, but I ruined it with that stupid joke about assassinating my ex at the end and couldn't bring it back :p

@trafalgar I though the joke was great! hahahaha! Great minds think alike lol!

haha thanks a lot firepower :)

Ruined it? Or made it awesome?

No man you left some room for reader participation.

I loved that joke too. I love it when simply reading something can make me sit and laugh all by myself. Great job!

haha thank you everlove

Thing is, those people already have set a "standard". A base level for their happiness, comparing with their own community. This is how rich people are often quite miserable.

If you want to be truly happy then move to a place than everybody else has less than you do.

@hanshotfirst summed it up nicely. I had similar thoughts as I read through the article! :)

This is inevitable, right? Even if we know that rich people will get better access to healthcare, education, etc - we can at least try to mitigate / minimize it.

It seems too idealistic / utopian to hope for a society where wealth infers NO benefit regarding the important stuff of life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39