You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is The World Becoming More Violent?

in #life7 years ago

Because I am American, I formed my opinion before I read any of your delightful article. My answer was... "It depends". And that still is my answer. But sure enough, you addressed exactly what I was going to bring up. It all depends on what we are comparing.

We are definitely more civilized and less violent than 1000 years ago... but are we civilized enough? I say "no". I have very high expectations for human beings. We are an incredibly intelligent species. I think we can do much better.

Unfortunately, there is a lot of money to be made off of violence. For that reason alone, I fear we will not reach our full potential. Sensationalizing violence pays. If we could stop that, we could make even more progress. "But if ifs and buts were candy and nuts..." I still wouldn't eat them because who wants to eat a butt? Especially if it still has some beads lodged in it?

Sort:  

Oh yes, I mean comparing 1000 years ago isn't exactly a high bar, but we have made very gradual progress

You'd think being on the cusp of colonize mars and quantum computing would mean our killing each other on large scale days are well behind us, but no. Definitely room for improvement here

Wow. That may be the most meaningful conversation we have ever had. Have we become an old married couple? Is the excitement dead?

Oh never mind... the beads are still there!

Oh I have the answer. We colonize mars, find some creatures living there and then kill them instead.

Oh wait. That sounds a lot like what happened in the 1500s. Damn!

This time we can put it on the news every night!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66