You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do we have a culture of celebrating academic failure?

in #life7 years ago

This post is music to my ears. I am a special education teacher and am currently teaching Algebra to students with learning disabilities. Nearly every day I stress that my class is pushups for their brains. I gave told them if anyone ever comes up to the m on the street and asks them to factor a trinomial... they should turn and run because that would just be crazy. However, they will need to know how to use the logical part of their brain every day for the rest of their lives. Math helps them to exercise that part of the brain. I have yet to see a football player do a pushup during a game... but they do a ton of them in practice to strengthen the muscles needed in the game.

Sort:  

I salute you for your efforts sir. I definitely agree that learning mathematics can have far reaching indirect benefits like being a more rational thinker. No individual or society suffers if their people are too logical, rational and intelligent.

Well put! I may have to drop that one on them next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67