Why should I work out? Need some inspiration? just take a look..

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Is fitness the latest craze sweeping all of social media at the moment? Should we all be working out? My answer is yes. 

For the last couple of years I've dabbled in and out of working out. Especially when I was younger I was encouraged to compete in sports such as swimming, but as that cut down I lost a lot of my fitness. Since then, I've played netball quite a bit and also tried out some classes such as Insanity, and got a membership at the gym last year (which I used 5 times). 

But working out and keeping healthy needn't be 4 hours at the gym every day. It can be simple and SO SO effective. 

This year In particular, I have been adhering to Lucy Wyndham Read's youtube fitness channel, and it has done me wonders. It started with just doing 4 minutes a day, then as I started to get into it, I would actually look forward and WANT to workout everyday. So days like today I work out for 30-45 minutes. 

Although this photo may not scream crazy weight-loss story to any of you, for me exercising more or less every single day this year so far, has given me the confidence to wear clothes like the ones on the right hand photo (which I would never dare have thought about wearing this time last year!). The left hand photo, makes me cringe so hard as this was one of the only times in my life I didn't have to walk to school or do any exercise and as you can tell, there is no definition!! My bum literally melts into my legs. 

I'm not trying to shame you if you are the same, I just didn't personally like my body like that- SO I changed it! 

I cannot express how much exercising and getting your body going helps. 

The NHS states: "It's medically proven that people who do regular physical activity have:

  • up to a 35% lower risk of coronary heart disease and stroke
  • up to a 50% lower risk of type 2 diabetes
  • up to a 50% lower risk of colon cancer
  • up to a 20% lower risk of breast cancer
  • a 30% lower risk of early death
  • up to an 83% lower risk of osteoarthritis
  • up to a 68% lower risk of hip fracture
  • a 30% lower risk of falls (among older adults)
  • up to a 30% lower risk of depression
  • up to a 30% lower risk of dementia"

But what is most important to me right now, is the mental state it sets you up in for the day. As a student, I have the luxury of usually most mornings off. I use this time to workout and it puts me in the best mood for the rest of the day.

Working out is known for essentially releasing happy emotions into your brain when working out, which then generally makes you happier the more you work out. But not only that. It also helps energise you, relieves stress (especially after a hard day at work, putting all thought and energy into one thing can be so great!) and helps to make you feel better in yourself. Look at it this way, working out for four minutes a day may not seem a lot but over a few months it will help you tone or build muscle. This can lead to you being happier within your body! 

Here are some great ways to get you started: 

First up is Facebook, I cannot tell you how many simplified workouts I find on there that I save! 

All you need to do is research in the search bar and you can find millions of short videos made for exactly where you want to target. This one in particular is by cusifit. 

However, if you want a collated list of videos or maybe even more of a personal trainer check out lucy wyndham read ...

This is one of my favourite workouts to do! She also does the four minutes a day I mentioned earlier. 

Other ideas can include: 

  • walking
  • running
  • cycling 
  • swimming

Exercise doesn't need to be as hard as you think it is, simply taking a walk with your dog or a friend for an hour a day can seriously impact and benefit your life at the same time! 

If you're looking for a bit more of a in depth workout plan and one that gets results pretty quickly (if you keep up with the regime) here is the link of an insanity course that you can do in the comfort of your own home. 

On second looking, this is not the insanity I completed but is with the same man and very similar! 

So take a positive step and change in your life today, for the better. Ask yourself this, if you're not happy- be it in your body or you mind or you feel that you can never get a clear head- why would you not try working out? 

Let me know your thoughts down below and I'll be sure to come check out your blogs too! 

 

Sort:  

Yeah, I seriously need to, but I'm lazy for physical work. Thanks for this and that gif! Take care. Peace.

honestly, start of with the youtube ones, she puts up 4 minutes every day and they're always different- that way you don't get bored! I didn't think I liked working out either but I pushed myself and found something I love!!

Hi @hannahp I just upvoted your post because I do agree that it takes work to stay healthy. Plus, I like how you asterisk that guys face out of the picture. That was funny.

oh it was my brothers face! I wasn't sure how he would feel about his face being on there so I thought Id just get rid of it completely!

Hi hannahp I work out 40 min to an hour 5 days a week so glad you recognize the benefits of exercise

It's so important to just exercise in anyway you can it's great that you have the stamina and persistence to do that!!

I would like to reblog this would that be alright with you .

Of course i would love that!

Thank you hannahp and feel free to reblog any of mine if you like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78