How to make an EBOOK? An easy 2nd Income!

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever wanted to create a second income or be able to create something that will keep making you money? Maybe you just want to show your expertise in a subject or release some creativity. 

Well an ebook is perfect for you, there are so many ways of creating and selling your ebook from iTunes (Ibooks) and Amazon to your very own websites. But stuck as to how to get started? Keep on reading..

This is my first ever Ebook title page! 

A good App to download is called "Templates for iBook author free" 

It has 33 pre downloaded templates ready to use and an option for more downloadable books also! These books range through every single genre you could think about, and offer different features i.e. some are to show off photographs more such as a cookery book whereas others make more space for text.

As you can see here, I clicked on the very first book from the last photo. It opens up straight away and shows a template that has already been put together with a title page, a chapter, places to put photos and writing. And you're literally ready to go! 

Here is an example I have made for my future Ebook that I am releasing all about photography. It is as simple as copy and pasting your chosen photo (this is one I took in NYC last year) and dragging the text and title boxes to exactly where you want them and what shape/size. 

The next decision you need to make is what you want to write your ebook about, it may be simpler to choose this before deciding on your template as often they can correlate quite well. But what is it going to be about? 

Ask yourself this: 

  • Is there something I really like to read about?
  • Am I good at something or find it interesting?
  • Can I write any length about this chosen topic?
  • What is it that you always go back to think about in the day?

The last question may throw you slightly. Say you're at work, and all you can think about is cars; lots of different cars, maybe the manufacturing of cars, different shapes and sizes, collectables etc. Well then, that is definitely something you could write about! 

Anything that you can show your passion off with, and may help educate even just one other person is fantastic and a great start! Besides as you get more confident, you may branch off completely in different directions. You don't have to be completely decided by the end of this article! 

Important things to remember: 

  • when selling through iTunes, you do need to fill in a contract. This is really simple (i've done it myself) and only has to be fully filled if you're doing this for money. Please do read T&Cs
  • Make sure that all photos you use are either non copyright or even better- Your own. Don't go using things of other peoples, because I am sure they won't be too fond and you can get in trouble. 
  • Pricing! If you are charging for your book, which is fine, make sure you put it at a good price. You need to decide whether or not you would pay much for the same type of product at that quality. Charging over ten dollars/pounds may seem great for you, but will people really want to pay that much. I suggest doing some research by downloading the Ibooks app and looking through your genre (most iPhones have this pre downloaded). This works well for making sure you don't copy or duplicate anyone else's title and to see if there is a hole in the market! 
  • Lastly, As you are creating this using an Apple product, it may be an idea to check whether you can sell the finished product on other sites like Amazon. The templates are a great starting place but they may have conditions where they are only available to use if sold within their company. 

And thats it! Edit, Proof read and upload! 

Let me know how you get on if you decide to make an ebook or even if you just have a play around with it as it can be a lot of fun and a good thing to focus on if you're feeling like you are lacking direction. 

Sort:  

Good presentation , makes making an eBook so easy.

Whoa ironic! I'm actually in the (slow) process of writing my first ebook!

Nice article!

wow that looks so good and so so professional! Good job!!

This post has inspired me to look into the creation of a E book. Thank you!

woohoo! let me know how it goes :-)

Howdy! When you get a chance could you take a look at my post?
https://steemit.com/writing/@sirlunchalot/attention-e-book-writers-take-your-work-to-an-interactive-level
Let me know if u think its a good idea!
Thanks.

I've published two books through a self-publishing company. And then I just now released my third through createspace and kindle. Thanks for the informative post, I wish I had been more informed the first times around, would have saved a lot of money! Check out my post about that https://steemit.com/@rebeccamorgan

well thanks for taking a look, i'm definitely not a pro but through trial and error / persistence I think I may have cracked it:-) Ill be sure to look now!

I had to get acquainted with it. To learn more about this. I would like to re-read that to get acquainted with the different parts of the post. Post deserves attention. The material is presented correctly. It describes the problem well. The material presented in the post, appears clearly to our consciousness. Thank you pay attention to it.

thanks for taking a look!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60410.66
ETH 2598.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62