Why do people rape?

in #life7 years ago

It saddens me how low some humans are to hurt another person. The fact that people who cause harm are able to live with themselves after forcing horrifying acts onto another person is utterly disgusting. I have been taught that no matter how young or old you are, no one is safe from sexual harassment. I cannot imagine having children and sending them to school, thinking they are safe and protected; but they’re really not. It is horrifying, the real world is horrifying. What makes it all even worse is that most people who rape, get away with it!

Sad-Woman.jpg

The Argo Newspaper says, “Experts estimate that as many as 90 percent of all rapes are never reported”. Myself, a student at Temple, I must be aware of my surrounding. Sometimes walking around campus, after my night classes, I get worried. I hate passing groups of men, I make sure to be on a phone call so that if anything happens, the person on the phone can hear what’s going on and help me. It worries me, it really does, because “one in eight women [college women] were the victims of rape”.

485805792.jpg

Learning about rapes and trafficking has paranoided me so much that I no longer allow my ten year old sister to play basketball in front of my house alone without a chaperone. I can not even trust my neighbors, who knows what they are thinking! Now, even leaving my home, my parents or siblings watch me as I walk to my car. In Kristof's article a women who went to get firewood to cook with got gang raped, thats nuts! All she wanted to do was cook but instead she was rapped by men in uniform. Uniform! Not even people in uniforms, who are suppose to protect us, should even be trusted. No one is to be trusted. Not people in uniforms, not school officials, not neighbors, not friends, and not even family members!

Sort:  

because they are below animals. those who do btw. people don't rape. rapists do rape.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44