My schooltrip to Barcelona.

in #life7 years ago

Hi to everyone! This is my second post on Steemit, I hope you'll appreciate it!
As a last year high school student, in May I went together with my class abroad for our schooltrip. The destination was Barcelona, the most important centre of Catalunya and Spain in genereal.

A pearl in the Mediterranean.

Barcelona is a really modern city, but it has so many artistic and historical sights you can't even imagine! There you can find modern skyscrapers beside old-fashioned baroque and gothic constructions; the crystal clear Mediterranean Sea is embraced by the green of Montjuic and the climate is on of the mildest you can find on Earth, it's really unbelievable. Here are some of the places I loved most, with relative photos.

The Sagrada Familia

The "Sagrada Familia" is an astonishing church designed mostly by the Catalan architect Antoni Guadì. It's been building for more than a century and it's yet to be finished; when finished, it will have three facades and 18 spires, with the highest reaching an astonishing height of 170 metres (560 ft), 1 metre less than Montjuic to "don't sorpass God's creation".
It has a unique design, a fusion of many different styles than can't be described by words: you must see it by yourself.

Here's a lateral view:

Here a closer frontal one:
WhatsApp Image 2017-06-12 at 23.17.01.jpeg

Here's a link to Google Images to a have a better view of this masterpiece:
Click!

Antoni Gaudì's houses:

The Catalan architect is famous worldwide also for his bizzare and charachteristic house, built in Catalan Modernist style.

Here's a photo I took (from the bus) of Casa Battilò:
WhatsApp Image 2017-06-12 at 23.14.32.jpeg

And here's the Google Images link:
Click!

Montjuic's overlook:

Last but not least, I want to share with you a panoramic photo I took on Montjuic of the breath-taking view of the city from above:
WhatsApp Image 2017-06-12 at 23.12.21.jpeg

This is nothing but a waaaaay short summary of the wonders I've seen in the catalan city, but I hope I've stimulated your curiosity. Barcelona is definitely worth a trip to: there are so many things to see, the food is great, the wine too and people are amazing!

Signed, a Neapolitan guy who's got his heart stolen by Catalunya.

Sort:  

Gaudi! There is just nothing similar. I HOPE to see it IRL at least once!

Maybe with a "cerveza" in the hand!

Wow... that is nice place, thank you for sharing. :)

Thank you!

Nice place.. and interesting....and followed already!

I'm visiting next month and looking forward to seeing the same sites!

Lucky you! I suggest you to visit also other catalan cities, just like Girona or Figueiras.

I'm only having three days in Barcelona and three days in Madrid so lots to fit in!

Wow!! You're so lucky visiting there. :) Barcelona is beautiful. I'm adding this to my list of places to visit.

Very nicely photographed trip. Makes one want to go as well!

Definitely worth a trip! It's breath-taking.

Nice images of Barcelona! Gaudi was an architectural genus. Too bad he didn't leave instructions behind for Sagrada Familia,..

Absolute genius, no doubt. That's really a pity, but I think that they're doing a great work the same, we'll see when it will be finished!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57651.10
ETH 2377.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42