Loud Discos and Helplessness

in #life6 years ago

disco.jpg

I am exploring something interesting -

My husband and I live in an apartment in large city in the middle of the jungles of Peru where the 80's music plays loud.

And we were watching a disco being built on stilts approximately 500 yards away from our apartment over the river.

Our apartment has thin walls and is also on stilts, and the disco and our apartment are at the same level opposite each other.

We had concerns, knowing the discos in our adopted jungle city can be loud.

And the day the disco opened, we discovered the music IS loud - as it surrounds our apartment in a sound bath of unwanted speaker distortion as Michael Jackson eternally belts out Thriller starting at 2 am.

Oh, and yes, the salt on the wound is the fact that the speakers all face outward letting the world know, the party is here!

The music nearly always cranks up on nights when we need our sleep the most.

And we have assembled an array of different techniques to turn down the party and be at peace for sleep.

Noise canceling headphones and multiple pillows over our head with the air conditioner cranked on high as ocean waves play on our home speakers are our most effective methods to date.

And when I am good and annoyed, I peer out the window - and note the party often seems no more grand than an over-enthusiastic DJ, three bartenders, a security guard leaning against a post having a smoke and a waitress sweeping the floor.

A feeling of the pointlessness of it all occurs to my rational mind as I simultaneously submit to a self-perceived state of helplessness in the wave of this sound bath that covers a three block radius.

Like I have to "suck it up."

Like I am a "victim" here.

Blaming them for my lack of a good night of sleep in my complaining mind.

Moving is not much of an option in our jungle city. There are loud parties everywhere, and apartments that are safe and comfortable are challenging to find.

Appealing to the city council is not much of an option either. This city is a bit like the wild west. Bribes are common here, and the disco owners handsomely reward those who tip them to the timing of the "random" sound monitoring -

And in my "helplessness," I foster and nurture resentment.

Not quite anger, just a simmering litany of blame replaying in my head through long mornings as the beat of Peruvian cumbia music vibrates our floor boards.

My mind desperately wishing to find a solution to the puzzle of the disco neighbors, wishing them to be more respectful, more considerate.

And they aren't.

And I am a tiny bit ashamed to admit if a significant wind were to come along and threaten to twist the disco on its stilts during a time when it was empty of people - and if this were to further into a situation where the structure safely collapses - I could happily stand on the balcony of our apartment with a glass of wine toasting the fall.

Even as the fall of this structure would devastate the owner's dreams.

And I honestly do not want that!

I want the owners to be successful.

AND I want to be free to sleep in peace.

What I would like to understand -

How to be accepting of others rights to a party like it's 1999 in a shared space while finding a way to get some sleep?

Perhaps you have situations in your life that are similar?

Sort:  

Hey @haikukitty, thanks for sharing! So many things out there to be happy for and about. Always keep staying positive! Thanks for a nice post! Cheers

Thank you for taking your time to spend reading my modest post. Also, for the time to share your noting of trends in the Alt coin world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64381.21
ETH 3475.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50