BALANCING YOUR LIFE AS AN UNDERGRADUATE

in #life6 years ago

images.jpeg
image source

The undergraduate world is a place of fulfilment and a huge stage of opportunities...

I like sharing stories when I get to talk... Story about myself... Why? I Love practicals... There are so much theories out there... That may not fit you. People will just give five tips of becoming high fliers... All these tips are relative... So just pick your own and leave the rest for others...

Truth is the industry and schooling are far apart;
What they teach you in school compared to the outside is almost totally different! Many people have graduated with First Class, but because they have not been able to get exposed while in school find it very difficult to cope with the corporate world...so they have to take extra courses later on.

Now I'm going to be telling you how I'm able to couple school and the corporate world together... don't say because @gwenflorida said this.. Let me follow strictly... No!

Man know thyself

Know if you can manage both... If you cannot focus on your studies, while at it, connect to people doing awesome and watch them
Don't just copy and get a bad result, later blaming it on the conference... You're on your own!

So let's talk about this!

Many people ask me if I have blood running through my veins... Because of how I'm everywhere and excelling. My answer is always
Yes I have blood, and two I'm not just every where I'm adding value

Have you ever thought that 'what will happen to me after school and service year' What will I be doing? If you cannot answer that question and you're in final year already...Something is wrong!
You know why?
Government does not care about you...Your parents are waiting for you...To give them returns in Investment.
I'm not here to motivate you, I just want you to think deep about your life while in School. If you're just flexing, partying, going to classes, playing and doing exams... I'm sorry, You may need to change. Why? Your life is much more than schooling.

Schooling is just a very small fraction of your life
By 30! You should be done with most of the corporate schooling..what will be left of you?
Someone even asked me yesterday, how are you even a student? Lol.I am... I don't have time for unnecessary chitchats; I plan my time and I'm on the move.

Though I play alot! A least @Sussan and @Prechi knows me... But in my play I'm learning, I'm watching, I'm asking questions, I'm building capacity and giving knowledge.

So to my story.

FB_IMG_1527063404266.jpg
[I and my friends in school]

I got into school pretty late.. As many people will see it... I finished high school pretty early but getting admission to college was difficult... After 5 years of staying at home, I finally got admitted into college. So you can calculate my age.. I'm not a small girl. 😃😃

I've been doing stuff before I got admission, had a good business I was managing, and was doing a home teacher in my area. I was pretty comfy till admission came. So I had to pack it all and go to school. I didn't do anything till my second year I guess, Then people started asking me what's going on... That they miss my presence on social media and my exploits. I just smiled because I knew what I was doing; I was trying to build a strong gp!

My parents don't have a problem if I go up and down... Their own is don't fail! After fighting for my freedom for years... Serious fight... I'll share this one later. So I built a nice gp then started my career. I Love mental and emotional health and volunteering, I also love Relationship and girl child volunteering... Though I'm not making money from my counseling classes yet, I'm building visibility... I'm building capacity.

You can't engage me in any mental health issues or relationship issues now and I won't participate fully. Is it as a result of school? Nope! Even though I'm studying Biology. It's as a result of positioning myself and building capacity... I'm just waiting to launch out... I've got some awesome contents that people are going to pay a premium to get.

If you're studying pharmacy.. Don't just depend on what they teach in school... On weekends go to pharmacy shops and tell them you want to work for free! Yes! You will learn! Don't wait to be a graduate and become a Dummy Pharmacist that just knows only books. Books will not pay the bills.. It's your knowledge and how well you're able to apply...

images (1).jpeg
image source

So a friend asked me how I manage all these...
I respect time Though sometimes I'm a bit laid back** I write what I want to do for the day at midnights and wake up to accomplish them... Sometimes not all,But most times. I just have this drive that I have to be successful and I'm ready to give it all it takes.

So first is plan

Many people have TIME but they gist it away... They party it away...

Next.. I'm very intentional about the people I have around me. (Networks)

Mind the people you keep around you..
The people in your inner circle are your influence. Though I'm someone who is not really influenced by people opinions... Not everyone one is like me... So if you're very bothered about what people say and it registers in your mind... Please keep great people around you. That will talk of profitable things.

Trust me I'm social... But I balance it up.

I don't go socializing while I'm supposed to be reading...
Let me go back to this man know thyself
I'm not someone who can crash read but I assimilate very fast... Just once it's clicked...Except for Mathematics.
I don't attend all classes... I miss classes sometimes...But I make up for it...I ask questions from my mate,I copy all my notes and make sure it's updated and read it when necessary.

If you want to pursue your dreams you have to make Calculated sacrifice.
Don't miss exams saying you're making sacrifices... You're on your own. All these boils down to how well you've groomed your mind;

What do you fill your mind with everyday?

Is it just bitterness and gossips?

Or with books that has to do with your area of expertise?

Or with great leaders who will mentor you (virtually with Cds or messages) and give you shoulders to climb on?

What does your mind and heart consist of?

Out of the abundance of the heart and mind the mouth speaks and the actions Is seen by many.

So I'll say train your mind to be able to multitask... @samstickkz is a good example of a multi-tasky person; He trades crypto currency, repair computers, build websites and sell clothes... Will be starting his farm in 2 months!

Stop saying I don't have the capability... Build it!
Stop saying I'm shy...
Jimi Tewe said

If you're shy you're psychologically defective.
So stop saying you're shy... Say you're psychologically defective... Who can say that?
Your playing small does not serve the world. Who are you not to be great? Start paying your dues... Start reading... Start meeting people who are doing better than you in your field and start connecting; Serve them, buy them gifts, give them surprise hangout... Why? You want to tap from them.

connect-diverse-people-business-social-network-18677637.jpg
image source

Elisha was always with Elijah.. Why? He wanted a double portion He got it! He stuck close! Some people will say it's too hard to connect with these people, It's a Lie!

I can get close to whoever I want to get close to too... I know how to find my way and enter them. I attended one of Fela Durotoye's conference because I knew I'll meet someone I want to invite to speak in my programme I'm organising in school... I did so because I needed to full his emotional bank account. He can't tell me No.. Why? I have paid my dues!
That how to penetrate people... Do things that will wow them! They will come looking for you.

That's how I got in touch with all the great men I know... I'm not a proud person... So you hardly know I know anything till our paths cross... I like my results to speak. You see, don't be a figure head in school or where you are... Disrupt something! Let people know you're there
I can't be somewhere and no one knows I'm there... Never! I make my mark wherever I go... People will just know there is a Gwenflorida here. I consciously do it. I need to be known... And I can't be a knowledge junkie... I know too much to be silent!

Knowledge is useless when you keep it inside of you.

Many people need that knowledge. Stop hoarding knowledge!!!

A closed mouth is a closed destiny!
Stop all these shy talks and get up and start doing stuffs. The world is waiting. If you look deeply ,you'll see traces of the life you want to live, that you have right now...

What are you doing with it? Start from where you are.

Let's talk a little about your mind.

The dimensions of the mind.

  • Strength of your mind... (reading will definitely improve your mind) research has shown..
    Some of us our mentality is not so good.. You can improve the strength of your mind.

  • Speed of your mind: if well developed it will help you maximize your life better.

  • Agility: the strength to couple so much to do...
    Just like a computer where you minimise your works because you're doing lots of stuff... If you can successfully do it... You've optimized your results... That's agility
    Then

  • That's the depth of your mind.. It's improves your consciousness that you'll start doing things from your subconscious... Because it's something you've repeated over time... and you're so used to it

The mind is powerful... It's in building it that you'll be a successful student and successful in the corporate world while in school...
Be deep!
Have you spoken and you yourself had to pen down what you said?
When you get to that stage your mind is waking up already.
Lastly I will say that nobody owes you anything!
Nobody!

There are opportunities expertise and knowledge everywhere... But do you have the 'guts' to grab them?

If you don't... Start developing capacity already!
Why? You're already late... Catch up!

Thank you for reading to this point.

I remain @gwenflorida, your favourite love clinic doctor. I talk for a living.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Wow!! I'm amazed with this writeup. This is not just helpful to students, it is also helpful to those that are lagging behind in their careers.
Added to our curation list.

Courtesy of @nmalove

Awwwwn
So kind words. I appreciate this @nmalove, you're the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29