Confession of a Cellphone Addict

in #life7 years ago

adrian-sava-184734.jpg


I’m guilty, your honor.

Don’t even bother going through cross examination, I confess. It’s all on me. 100%. Guilty as charged.

You want evidence? Here’s a sordid summary:

  • My cellphone is the first thing I touch in the morning, and the last thing at night.
  • I’ve forgotten to bring my wallet when I leave home on many occasions, but never my cell for some reason.
  • I check every notification on my phone, immediately, without fail.
  • I worry more about my phone running out of juice than myself running out of water.
  • I can recite the number of likes I got on my last 5 instagram photos.
  • I don’t have a name for my phone, but I do feel calmer every time I touch it.
  • It takes all of my willpower to NOT play with my phone when I’m bored at a social event.
  • I feel an instant connection when I hear another person using the same ringtone as mine.

What, you want me to stop, your honor? I could go on...really. There’s so much more. What? You’ve heard enough? Alright. What’s the verdict then?

Cold turkey? What do you mean? That’s too harsh your honor. I can’t...I just can’t...for the love of god and all that’s holy, have mercy!

What’s that? Max 1 hour a day? How am I supposed to keep trac...oh, there’s an app for that? Ok, should have known.

Alright, I will try it… I mean, I will do it your honor! Yes sirree, starting tomorrow. What’s that? Effective immediately? But I’m in the middle of a reddit flame war… What? Contempt of court? Okay okay, I will start right now.

One last thing, can I have a selfie with you, your honor?

Sort:  

When you put it like that I think many of us are guilty of being a cell phone addict. Scared we might miss something, when in actual fact, we are missing what is right in front of us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33