2018-02-10: Coach Daddy

in #life6 years ago

Daddy Thoughts

coach_daddy.jpg
My daughters have essentially spent their entire conscious lives in Hawaii, so the winter weather in Texas has been quite a shock for them. Today's high was right around 32F (0C), so tennis lessons were canceled and we were mostly stuck inside. The girls are used to getting a daily dose of exercise and were feeling squirmy, so we went up to our makeshift gym and had a family workout!

In the picture above I'm trying to show my daughter what the "core" muscles are. She trains for tennis 4 days per week and mentioned that her ribs hurt, so I wanted to show her how the power of her swing starts in her legs, transfers through her hips and core, and is finally delivered to her shoulders and arms. I think kettlebell movements are the best way to demonstrate the core in action:

kettleside.gif

Ideally she would have been able to actually see my core muscles, but I've been enjoying a bit too much beer and pulled pork lately :-P From Monday I'll be starting a 42-day Kenzai Kettlebell program that'll get my diet and exercise dialed in, so maybe the next time I play Coach Daddy I'll have a more aspirational physique.

Food for Thoughts

There's freezing rain in the forecast tomorrow, so I went to Costco today to stock up on food for the week. I judge people by their shopping carts. Today mine looked like this:

costco_cart.jpg

The family follows a very hip and trendy "eat food that your great grandmother would recognize as food" diet, and it seems to be working pretty well. My 7-year-old pops cherry tomatoes in her mouth like they're potato chips, and my 5-year-old skins her own carrots and eats them like candy bars. Hopefully these simple nutrition and fitness lessons will stay with them and serve them well later in life.

And of course, I picked up some meat! Costco probably has the best butcher shop in the country. Tomorrow I'll smoke a couple chuck roasts, but tonight's dinner was reverse seared filet mignon:

My daughters gobbled it up - they're no-bullshit food critics and picky as hell, so that's that ultimate seal of approval. This time I did the slow cook on the Big Green Egg with a bit of hickory smoke and then seared it on the Weber. My wife approved of the smoky flavor, and I'll aim to sear it a bit darker next time. Practice makes pretty good!

Bonus Thoughts

My daughter recovering from the workout with a protein snack while my dogs look on with envy:
IMG_4514.jpeg
Don't feel back for them though, they each got a bit of steak tonight :)

Daily Stats

Cash: 13.0%
Core: 75.7%
Explore: 11.3%
Workout: 40min dog walk (COLD!)
Alcohol: 1/2 New Belgium Fat Tire
Supplements: Zinc 20mg, Magnesium 300mg
Sleep: 11:3pm to 8am, broken at 1:50am (sleepwalking 5-year-old)

577|53

Sort:  

I just simply wish to be a great dad like you when I grow up

I appreciate the compliment, thank you very much!

Welcome her to tennis..!! 🤗

its really good to see ur daughter is interested in tennis..!😇

and u r being a good dad to support her..!😊

my father was also this much supportive during my early days in Community tennis School..!

u reminded me of childhood memories..!! 🌞

best wishes to her..! 🎾💞

~Greetings from Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

My daughter loves tennis, she's aiming to join the "High Performance" class in the spring, and will then be working towards competitions. We'll be a tennis family very soon! 🎾

wishing her a very prosperous future..! 🤗
stay blessed, u all..!😇

Your daughter is very cute and beautiful, they are very intelligent. ..
The menu you cook is very delicious and I will give it a try ..

Thanks for the compliments, and glad to hear you like the menu!

Teaching your daughter, you have a good idea to give attention to your daughter and build a best relationship, i think your daughter will be so happy have a parent like you, respect 😃😊

Thanks, hopefully my daughter feels the same way ;-P

Hehe of course she will :D

You so care to your daughter, respect to you,

Thanks, very much appreciated!

Ur welcome,, Hopefully I can see your next post ;)

Love the makeshift family gym! It's so nice to see parents encouraging their kids from a young age to develop their physical strength.

Thanks, gotta do something to keep the kids moving when it's too cold to play outside!

good post dear thanks for sharing..

New puppies have heat sensors in their noses to help find their moms while their eyes and ears are closed.

Is this fact just for dogs or all animals that come out with their eyes and ears closed?

It's nice how you're getting your kids to follow a healthy lifestyle. I hope everyone gets a dad who does this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54