Front Yard Skimboard Tidepool

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday, we built a shallow pool for skimboarding in our front yard. Craving a little surf action while the beach is 2 hours away, my boys and I decided to build an area for skimboarding and water play. It is basically a 42 x 9 foot slip-and-slide. It ended up being a blast during our Memorial Day BBQ with family and friends.

IMG_1921.PNG

IMG_1886.JPG

We got the idea on a whim, I figured, hey it can't be that hard or expensive to build something to get a little skimboarding practice on.

IMG_1739.JPG

A quick run to the store; Two 10x25 4mm foot plastic sheets, 3M spray glue, and around 18 of the dollar store pool noodles were the supplies purchased, the cost was around $45.

IMG_1744.JPG

We cut the plastic to our yard length, glued to two sections together, then we rolled the cut pool noodles around the plastic and spray-glued, this created an edge to hold the water.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

I first decided our yard was too uneven to hold the 3 inches or less of water for the whole length, so I thought the street would be a better idea, however the slope of the street for the whole 42 foot length was more than I anticipated.

This was a good thing since we had a lot of falls after placing it back in the yard!

IMG_1863 (1).JPG

Since the yard was indeed a bit uneven, we had to raise the sides of certain areas, a broken up Styrofoam cooler and spare wood did the trick.

It's not the beach, but it worked well!

Here is a short video:

A few action shots:

IMG_1926.PNG

IMG_1069.JPG

IMG_1059.JPG

IMG_1911.PNG

IMG_1924.PNG

Until next weekend:

IMG_1758.JPG

Have a good week Steemians!

-Greg

Sort:  

Hahaha this is awesome man! I am a great skimboarding fan and I live 1,5 away from the beach myself so I can't go there always! This is a very great solution to that problem!

I love to see how much fun this provides for the whole family!
Skimboarding is such a fun sport!

Just_DB

Thats so cool.... I need to try build one by myself!! :D

Yes, it is worth it in time and $! 😎

nice! looks like fun

Thank you sir!👍

Very cool. I brought some 10 mil plastic to my nephews birthday once. they have a huge hill in the backyard, and we brought a hose to the top and made a nice downhill slip and slide. I was the coolest uncle for an afternoon. I love your take on this. Genius.

That's awesome! I want to get thicker plastic next time, and better adhesive.. this was kind of a prototype.
Do you know of any places to get the plastic cheap as possible?
Thanks Rob!

I just snagged the 10 mil from one of the big box stores on my way to the party. it was an impulse buy of the best kind.

Very nice!

That looks like so much fun!

Thanks, it was a lot of fun 👍😎

Looks like fun :P

indeed it was, going to put it back up next weekend. 👍😎

That is fun! I used to skimboard till i got old! I still surf once in a while! That is really fun. Very resourceful

Thanks! It was a blast. This is my first year skimboarding, my oldest son got into it last year.😎

Awesome!

Brilliant! Very creative! BRAVO! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks for the upvote @creatr! 👍😎

Great skiboard

Thanks!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15