Night terror and it's consequences.

in #life7 years ago

IMAG0096.jpg

So five years ago I broke and dislocated my ankle along with splitting my leg bone vertically and dislocating my knee. Things had been improving this year although I still suffer with chronic pain and take tablets to manage it. As you can see from the above picture I ended up with pretty big scars as well as several screws and a metal plate. My father loves to joke that I have a screw loose...

Here's me waiting for the ambulance all those years ago, I look pretty happy but trust me I was just trying to distract from the pain I was experiencing.

IMAG0088.jpg

I had reduced my hours of work and changed my life style which helped to manage the pain.

However, yesterday everything changed. I experienced my first night terror, not that I was aware that it was one, as it was Wheels who informed me about them after the event. I found this particularly strange as I am not one for having nightmares usually.

I digress.

Point being I had this night terror which led me to thrash around in my sleep. Wheels got out of bed at 1 am because of how violent I was and he was unable to wake me. Around 2-3ish I wake up. This wave of pain immediately hits me. It was full force, intense and completely overwhelming.

I took my pain meds and thought it will ebb away. .. it did not.

By this point tears were streaming from my eyes as no matter how I moved my leg or what position I put it in the pain remained the same.

At 5 am I had resided in the fact I was not going to get any more sleep so Wheels and I laid in the dark chatting as he could not sleep either.

The kittens tried to be helpful by comforting me/using me as a cosy place to take a nap.

IMG_20171017_080450.jpg

Nature called so I tried to get out of bed only to find I could not put weight through my leg at all.

After crawling back from the bathroom I called work. They covered my shift fortunately and gave me three days off to assess whether or not my leg is going to be a long term issue.

Pretty much I could end up on long term sick leave if I cannot weight bear properly as my job requires me to be on my feet most of the day.

Around 10 am I looked at my foot to notice a faint bruise starting to form. (I had to change the saturation on the image as my phone camera didn't really pick up the bruising very well but there is a blue hue you can just make out)

IMG_20171017_104315_Bokeh.jpg

All I can do is rest and hope things get better. I can hop around the home and I have strapped my ankle up as it feels like someone is pushing a hot screwdriver through my ankle whilst my foot is in like warm water. It's a strange sensation and pain killers don't seem to stop it. The leg is spasming and the muscles feel very tight to top it off.

I am annoyed as I had been managing my pain well up to this point and now I feel I have taken a step back. I am careful with steps, stairs and stepping over or around things but I cannot control what I do in my sleep. This night terror may have created a living nightmare. Only time will tell.

Sort:  


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56240.84
ETH 2996.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21