Will You Remember?

in #life7 years ago

journals.jpg
(pic copyright of Greener Pastures)

How much of your life would you like to share with your kids?
Just what they experience with you or would you like them to know how you grew up, some of the stories of your childhood and adult years prior to their arrival?
Oh, I'm sure you will tell them all this, as I do my lil ones, but will they recall all of it when they are older? Will they remember enough to retell and pass on to their children?

These journals (pic above) are ones my husband & I bought for my in-laws. We made sure they were unique to each of them. The 'map' one was for his father, as he likes 'old world' style things and the 'music' one is for his mother, as she has a beautiful voice and loves singing.
We asked them both (as well as my parents, who also have journals we bought them) to share their life story with us in these books, so we could pass them on to our children and so on. We didn't want their life stories to be lost to only what our memories could recall. Sure we have fantastic memories with them and even recall some of the stories we've been told but no one is promised tomorrow and then who would retell it?

These will be cherished items in our families and we are so happy we decided to do it.
You may wish to do something similar in your family. Whether it be a journal or vlog of your parents/grandparents telling stories of their lives or showing you skills of the past.
Don't let it be lost to time! Capture it somewhere and cherish it!

Sort:  

I love this idea! My father already passed away and I wish I had something like this from him!

I wish I had thought of doing it sooner, so I could've had my grandparents do it.

You might be interested in getting a book such as one of these to also give to your respective parents:
The Book Of Me
Memories for My Grandchild
A Mother's Legacy
These workbooks ask questions intended to remind a person who is writing their life story of things that they haven't thought about in a long time but want to include. I don't think I would actually use one of the books. There isn't enough room in the spaces to write all that you might want to say about one topic then there are other questions that don't apply and so the space is wasted. The questions aren't always in an order that you want to write in either. It is a very good way to jog the memory though.

oh, wow...those are amazing! Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70782.07
ETH 3815.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44