Gray Nomad, dreaming of the simple life.

in #life7 years ago

Suffolk_Reading_Wagon_1887.jpg

As a child in England, I remember the beautiful old painted gypsy wagon pulled by two piebald horses. Each summer the old Gypsy and his wife would sell wooden peg's door to door, which he whittled around the open camp fire in the evenings. My father would say " That's a real gypsy not a diddicoy". Referring to true Romani gypsies not just a traveller.

I thought what a wonderful simple life, no worries, just travelling around the English countryside pulling your home.

Throughout the generations there has always been nomads, from hobos jumping a freight train to find work during the great depression. Romani gypsies travelling across Europe escaping from persecution. Irish travellers moving from farm to farm, working the fields. Or baby boomer snowbirds looking to escape the harsh winters of the northern states of America.

Each country has its nomads and here in the twenty-first century it seems, raising living costs have many more people looking for the simplicity of a nomadic lifestyle. A tribe of nomads and hobos are recording their adventures and advice on YouTube channels. Living in a selection of vehicles from cars, vans to larger RVs. Travelling from one Walmart car park to another, filming each others daily routine. Boondocking in forests and deserts across the country. Some of these channels have large numbers of subscribers and are make a living from their channel. It's a nomadic reality t.v show, life on the road with the nomad stars and the fans that follow them.

This is not the romantic simple life dream I had as a child.

gypsy wagon.jpg

Are these the new American pioneers crisscrossing north America showing us tourist attractions and meeting up for van builds and RV shows. I feel the nomadic lifestyle is becoming very commercialized. Are we looking for the simple life, but with all the conveniences of fast internet, fast food, and high tech gadgets. Or a cheap way to live without having a mortgage, rent and taxes.

As I watch these channels, I ask myself could I become a gray nomad gypsy? I guess,I'll have to do some more research into the living on the open road.

Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg

I would love to hear your story if you are thinking of following the nomadic lifestyle.

Sort:  

I do follow one permanent RV'er on YouTube, and have thought about tiny houses and such (a few years ago now).

It looks fun and all, but I am the type that is perfectly happy in one place.

Loved this post, thanks for sharing.

Thank you,@getonthetrain. Not sure I could give up my creature comforts. Also gas being nearly $7.00 a gallon here in Europe, I would have to live in a mini.

The key is to not move too often/too far. Just short moves and enjoy the place for awhile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70