When Life Gives You Lemons Or How To Bounce Back When You've (Nearly) Lost Everything...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

You know the saying "When life gives you lemons, make lemonade". Well, it didn't work for me. I've been trying to make lemonade, gin & tonic and margaritas from all those lemons I've been receiving in the past year. But nothing really worked for me, no matter what I was trying.  

  image source  

2017 was one of the worst years of my life, from financial and personal point of view. I guess these two go hand in hand... When one doesn't go well, the other follows. 

I don't want to bother anyone who reads this post with all the struggles I went through last year. It's enough to say that I escaped home foreclosure just thanks to some good friends of mine (to whom I'm immensely grateful), and to the fact that I have mortgage at one of the most client friendly banks in my country, which showed trust and gave me the chance to cover my debt. I can tell it was hard, it looked hopeless, and I thought I would never come out of that nightmare. However, I did, somehow. It's not completely over yet, but things are looking much better starting from this year. Instead with the bank I now have quite some debt to cover with my friends. But I'm confident I'll be able to cover it as quick as I can. 

And this brings me to the main question: How to bounce back when you've nearly lost everything?  

First of all, it takes faith. Faith that you will make it somehow, no matter what, faith in yourself, which after such a dark period of one's life is severely damaged.  

And it takes courage. Courage to face all the consequences that might have happened, no matter how hard they could be, courage to ask for help (trust me, this is the hardest thing in the world), and courage to start all over again. 

I've been struggling with both, the faith and the courage. My self-confidence touched the bottom, and I felt like a complete failure. But when I finally found the courage to ask for help, and accept the situation I was in, the things started to move and the faith returned. I managed to break the circle of negativity I was locked in, and the opportunities started coming my way again. After 10 months of struggles I got a phone call from my occasional client who offered me a yearlong contract. It's not enough for comfortable living yet, but it certainly is a good start. This small contract brought my confidence back and gave me the force to look forward with optimism, courage and faith. Faith that I'll make it back to my ideal life, the GOOD LIFE 🙂 

There're you have it. This is my view of how to deal with lemons life is giving you. I hope this post can inspire anyone going through life troubles of any kind. Always keep faith, have courage and never give up! And have all those lemonades, margaritas or gin & tonics life is serving you 😉

Cheers! 🥂

P.s.:

The story I shared is also the reason I wasn't active on this or any other social network for a while. Now I'm back, back on track to my good life 🙂 I'll try to post whenever I can and engage more with the Steemit community. 

I'd like to read your thoughts, comments and experience with the topic I discussed.  

Sort:  

Well I'm glad youre back with us, good luck.

Thanks, I'm glad too ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42