Little self-sustaining ecosystem planters

in #life2 years ago

I am a pretty simple person. It doesn't take much to keep me happy and I also don't need a great variety of activities to stay entertained. I rarely leave my little neighborhood because we have everything that I need right here and then more. There are hundreds of restaurants and bars, we have the beach, and my condo, the pool, and plenty of sporting opportunities are right here. There really isn't much reason to leave.

I kind of went off an a tangent there but what I am trying to say is that things that other might find inconsequential are the things that make me happy, such as these bad boys.


image.png

The owner of our condo building decided to spruce up the entrance a bit with these little pond simulators that have some orchids growing out of them. Mostly only one plant at a time grows but it looks pretty neat when it does. The really awesome thing about these ponds is that if you look closely you will see that there are hundreds of tiny fish living inside of it.


image.png

The reason for this should be pretty easy to understand and this is my own assumption. The fish keep the tank clean by consuming any plant muck as food and they also will eat any mosquito eggs that get put in the pond. I believe that the owners of the tanks also have to supplement this with a bit of fish food as well but if there is one thing that I remember about when I had aquariums in college it was that it is better to underfeed your fish than to overfeed them. Overfed fish become lazy and don't clean anymore and they also produce a lot of waste that will make the water toxic for the plants as well as the other fish.

I'm happy that our landlord does little things like this because they don't have to do it - this place is already seen as one of the better places to live in the area. They just do it because it looks nice and it makes people happy. People like me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38