Happy New Year?

in #life2 years ago

Well I promised myself that I was going to have a reasonable night last night and not ring in the new year with a massive hangover but for the umpteenth time in a row I was wrong and that didn't happen.

We started our "journey" at 5pm last night at a locals bar and then went on a pub crawl that was far too effective in achieving its goals. Our rules for pub crawls are pretty simple but that is also their downfall

  • No one can veto a bar, if they do they are simply eliminated from the group
  • There is a one drink maximum at each bar
  • The group moves on once the first person is done with their drink - you can carry yours with you if you are not finished yet


image.png
src

The above image is not us, but it may as well have been. We all drank with a quickness that might have been inspirational to any onlookers but in retrospect it was just nuts. There is no good reason for anyone to drink as quickly as we were last night and since we started so early, it resulted in all of us being staggeringly drunk well before the drop of midnight.

I had previously said that I would be home and in bed before midnight and that was the initial plan. It did not work out that way though. I did stick to my promise that I will never break and went home to pick up Nadi before the fireworks began because this is one of the things that she hates the most. I don't ever want her to be alone when fireworks go off because she hates them more than anything else.


55448552_397833534333394_173116542425235456_n.jpg

I should have stayed home with the dog but instead, like a jackass, I went back out to a local bar that was absolutely packed in time for the "ball dropping" at midnight. I got to give my New Year' kiss to my dog, and that is who deserves it the most.

I'd like to say that I graciously and charismatically left the bar shortly thereafter but it was not like that at all. I staggered down the road for the 1 block to my condo and I seriously hope that this walk of shame didn't end up on someone's TikTok because it would almost certainly go viral in a way that I would prefer it didn't.

So now it is 2023 and really, it's just a number right? I have no resolution or grandiose plans for new year, new me. I'm pretty decent the way that I am. I'll probably just carry on the way that I have been going all this time.

I hope that whatever you did for New Year's Day was fun and that you don't stagger home the way that I did. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43