2018: The first year anyone has ever cared about the mid-term elections

in #life6 years ago

I am sure there are some devoted people out there that care every time a mid-term election comes along, and I am sure that every American you know is probably telling you that "they always vote in the midterms" ... which is a silly thing to lie about but whatever floats your boat buddy.

democrat-donkey-republican-elephant-mascot-boxing-aloysius-patrimonio.jpg

A lot of people are saying that this mid-term election is so important because if the reds win it Trump will have an easier time getting things passed in Congress, which is great or not great depending on how you view things. The Blues, if victorious will be able to fight these sorts of actions better if their side wins. I am sure there are some very delisional people out there that thing if the Democrats win they will be able to remove Trump from office but if you meet anyone like that you can go ahead and slap them for me because no, that is not what is going to happen. It is exceptionally difficult to remove a president from office, even Nixon chose to resign and had he not, likely would not have been removed from office. During most of our lifetimes we have only seen Billy Clinton get impeached and remember how he was removed from office after that? Yeah, me neither.

920x920.jpg

I for one will just be happy to see when the side of the road doesn't look like this everywhere you go. What a waste of paper and metal anyway. Do you really think that there is anyone out there that hasn't already made up their minds? If you are able to find that 1% of the population that hasn't decided yet do you 1) think they are going to vote at all and 2) are going to be influenced by your stupid yard sign?

I have a far more pessimistic view about all this because even though I did vote, i am not hopeful about anything changing at all no matter what the outcome is. I honestly believe everyone is going to continue whining, everyone is going to continue to do everything they can to blockade any sort of progress, and everyone is going to grandstand and make up lies about the other guy... maybe throw in a new wave of sexual harassment allegations just to keep things uncomfortably interesting.

flat,550x550,075,f.u1.jpg

After this thing is over tomorrow night, there will be some people celebrating claiming that their side won, only to wait a few months to realize that nothing has changed at all. Then I suppose the morons in Portland will take to the streets to block public transport and bust out the windows at Starbucks. You know, because that really helps.

Sort:  

I've always wondered about that when I see a sea of signs across a field or a street corner. I want to know who is voting based on those signs and I wonder if their voting privileges should be revoked. Well, not really but what a waste. Better not to vote than to do zero research and vote based on a colorful sign.

I keep saying to some old friends of mine how I miss the days when I was a kid and didn't know the difference between right and left, liberal and conservative. Back then I had friends from both sides of the aisle and we would just agree or disagree about certain things and that would be the end of it.

Not anymore though. I disagreed with one of my cousins and he literally told me that my opinion didn't matter because I wasn't a real American. His reasoning was that I had spent a couple years living in Mexico, and a couple years off and on in England. Clearly I was a bit of a traitor and couldn't think clearly about what was best for our country. Real Americans don't ever leave America, apparently.

This was a kid who I was extremely close to growing up. I am so fed up with all of this crap.

PS - This midterm was my first time ever voting for midterm elections.

Yeah, i get told that my opines don't get to carry full weight because I spend most of my time i live outside of the USA. I guess I didn't realize that our opinions were weighted like that. Perhaps there is a slider, much like the Steemit vote %, that exists in opinions, that I am not aware of.

LOL! It would seem that way.

You see, when you travel to other countries you forget what real freedom is like. My favorite is when people tell my girlfriend what it's like to live in England even though they've never left their own state and she is from the UK. They tell her that she is oppressed. She tries to tell them what it is really like, but their response is that she is fake news.

nice post for Election related. voting in the election has become a tradition for people, just to satisfy yourself. it is not going to make much difference. i think trump can prove to be a good politician in america, please don't mind that's my line. americans know more about trump than me.

"I for one will just be happy to see when the side of the road doesn't look like this everywhere you go. What a waste of paper and metal anyway. "

You are right, what a waste of paper, metal, energy, it hurts my eyes!

sure, but being accused of something... and being convicted of something are very different things. I personally don't know anything about these guys but I am not going to get into the trap of "if anyone accuses you of something you are unfit for public office" otherwise no one would be in public office.....

hmmm, maybe that wouldn't be so bad.

I change my mind on who I support at least 20 times on my commute, since every time I see a different sign I flip flop. I'll just end up voting for whatever names are on the last signs I see before I get to the polling place.

sounds like a wonderful plan. it is likely as good as any other strategy i have seen :)

Ohhh good mid term election coming.Hopefully peoples vote good candidate.Who works for poor peoples.Who works for country.Never corruption.Corruption is not good for country.Thanks for sharing this news.

I don't like trump due to his meaningless strategies.it would be great if he defeated in election. Maybe people will say me wrong but this is my opinion.

yeah, that election is not for another 2 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40