You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preparing the Homestead for Winter.....The Time is Right Now

in #life7 years ago

Seems like I'm ALWAYS a season behind lol. Still need to finish painting the house before snow flies. If anyone has a metal roof, any tips for walking up there???

Sort:  

Metal Roof, go and borrow what is called a hook ladder, put up just a regular 20-30 ft then have someone hand you the hook ladder and hook it to the peek. Roofers use them all the time. If you have rust patches, take an orbital electric sander, with a 50-60 grit paper and just pass over it, you don't want a hole, then you apply a metal oxide primer it is typically grey, then you would want to apply an aluminum (silver) Metal Clad paint. The reason you want silver is because any color you apply will absolutely peel even with a primer after 3-4 years. Trust me I know. I am reading this off of my contract with the painter that came and sanded and rolled with a roller pole the paint. Don't get a sprayer, they are horrible and you will have everything covered in the over spray. My neighbor had his barn done last year and his entire fence and tractor and lawn furniture was just covered in it. Also they only take a pressure washer and wash the roof first before spraying, actually sanding it will ensure that the paint primer actually adhere's to the metal of the roof. Will last longer. Hope this all helps.

Was thinking about that!!! I was a fireman for 20 years, and we called them "Attic ladders" (Hook ladder) I would need to make my own out of wood. My roof is only 2 yrs old, so it's in good shape. I need to get up there to clean my chimney. Thanks for the tips though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43