Do you remain friends with the brides?

in #life5 years ago

Yes! That happens a lot — I'll leave a wedding and go, 'Wow, that's someone I would be friends with in real life,' and it becomes a lifelong friendship. Then there are other brides I leave saying, 'thank god!'

What are some of the worst behaviors you've seen?
I've had brides ruin friendships or ask them for insane things — whether it was to buy a very expensive dress or spend a lot of money. Those are usually the common situations when someone's turned into a bridezilla — your friends are off the clock; they can give what they can give.

How do you hold it together with difficult brides?
I have to remember they're stressed, and a lot of people can't handle that. I step in and help them come back to reality. One of the reasons I got into this is because I love people, and I love helping people in challenging situations. I don't think there are many situations as challenging as a wedding.

Much of your job is people-focused. What is your training for that?
I reluctantly joined a sorority in college and over the course of four years, became the president. I loved being a leader and problem solver and dealing with different personalities. When I graduated, the first job I had was to work for the sorority. I was sent to schools with major problems like hazing, and I had to walk in and help them turn their problems around. I learned how to deal with different people and tough situations.

Are there things you've learned that you wish you'd known earlier?
I definitely started the business making every mistake in the entire world. I didn't know how much to charge, I didn't know how to set up business contracts or set boundaries so it was clear this isn't round-the-clock. A lot of these basic skills I maybe would've learned in school, but I learned on the job, and I'm happy I did. I learned from making a lot of mistakes.

Do you hear from aspiring professional bridesmaids?
I've had 25,000 people apply to work for me over the years. But I can't hire everyone. I've had a lot of people reach out to me and say, 'I would be so good at this! I love to party, I love to dance, I've been a bridesmaid a million times,' and I think, 'Well, that's awesome, but this isn't partying and dancing.' When you're at the wedding you don't drink and you don't flirt with guys and run around like crazy. You usually leave a wedding physically and mentally exhausted.

Rewritten Content:

Sort:  

Hello @gmohado! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @gmohado! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94