You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Towering Inferno

in #life6 years ago

hey, @maverickinvictus.

Since the tags don't tell me if this is fiction or not, I'm going to proceed as if it were real and ask, "Are you okay?!" What an incredible experience to have (if it's real) and to do it as calmly as you did.

It is sad that we don't appreciate safety drills of any kind until after an experience where we needed to use what we've learned. And if we're not paying attention or just going through the motions, how are we going to survive when it's real?

I remember fire drills and feeling kind of annoyed. Fortunately, I never had to worry about a fire, but I see the same looks on the faces of those who are flying with me on a commercial airline when the flight attendants go through the safety checks. I wonder how many of those are actually going to know what to do in the case of an emergency. I try to pay attention every time and I don't know if I'm going to be able to respond in the event of an emergency.

If this is real, I'm glad everyone made it out okay. Any idea what caused the fire? Did everyone from all floors make it out?

Sort:  

Yeah it happened to me a couple of years ago and the smoke was bad but I got out okay with just aching legs from going down the stairs.

Yeah that was what I was telling my team when we had the fire drill and they were more busy with their phones rather than listening. The knowledge you get could save a life, even your own someday.

It was an electrical failure in one of the units, one too many appliances plugged in and a frayed cord that sstarted the fire.

No one got hurt thankfully but restoring power and the elevators after was such a hassle going to work afterwards.

I don't know that I would prefer people be paranoid all the time, but it seems to me that a healthy dose of "something could go wrong" would be nice. I'm not sure why people get so comfortable with that, but normalcy bias is pretty rampant, and so we ignore things that we should pay attention to, including warning signs, and then when things are happening, we still figure out ways to try to keep it normal.

Fear of one's own mortality and getting over the inconvenience of such events needs to be kept in a healthy parameter of respect and will. You don't want to be paralyzed by such things, especially when non-action will kill you, and you want to be preparing yourself the rest of the time so you can act, rather than taking it for granted that nothing will ever go wrong.

Well, I'm glad it all worked out and that no one was hurt. And I'm also glad it happened a couple of years ago instead of being very recent. Don't need more of those. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69