You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What would I do if I got 1000 Steem tomorrow?

in #life6 years ago

Wow. i didn't realize living expenses in Venezuela were so low. I guessed they were cheaper, but I had no idea. On the other hand, the salaries are so small. I'm shaking my head.

Are you happy to be leaving soon? Or would you rather stay there?

Sort:  

Things are very cheap here, but the salaries are miserably low. You can buy a nice pack of cheese for 1.15 USD, and it's charming to be able to buy a lot of stuff with what I earn on Steemit.

However, the minimum monthly salary is 1.15 USD too right now, and it's what most people earn, so the cheapness of it loses its beauty right away.

I'm happy, I've been mugged quite a few times, the water service only works a couple times a week, the internet is getting worse by the day, there is no cash, only bank transactions, because the government has imposed ridiculous limitations on banks in order to try to reduce the cash flow...

But I can't leave for now until I get my papers in order and I get a bit more of an income. I'll try to grow my account in the meantime and start the help communities before I leave so that I can help Venezuelans in growing communities while I'm out.

I would, of course, prefer that the conditions got better instead of leaving, but what are the chances of that happening? The government is strengthening its hold on the throne and I don't see them leaving any time soon. So, for now, I'm leaving. I'm feeling trapped and pressed down in here.

I'm so sorry to hear about all of that. We get pieces of news here and there, but there's so much being reported from so many places it just seems to jump around where it's the most dire or most salacious. Wars and terrorism or what the President did or didn't do.

I sincerely hope you're able to accomplish what you want to do. One person can't really solve a country's problems, but they can try to help a few. You're very good to be thinking about others. But then, what else can you do, right? The need is right there, and it's unavoidable.

Stay safe.

I will try to stay safe :) And agreed; the key is to give as much as we can no matter where we are. I hope that in a few months I will have grown enough to make all of these dreams become true.

As for the news you get, I think that it's part of a series of campaigns of disinformation. I don't know how it works, but I know that the government has many news networks spreading views that are very different to reality. Even though sometimes they are easily falsifiable, they disorient the readers and may cause a strong disregard for the situation in the country.

I don't trust much of it, anyway. Ours isn't officially state run, but it is for all intents and purposes. Haven't been able to figure out what they have to gain by it. They may have had the power at one time to bring people to power, but theirs such a healthy distrust of them now, I don't think that's so true. They've got so much misinformation going that they can't possibly keep track of it all.

That said, reality is still reality, no matter how they want to try and spin it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49