How stupidity is minimized

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Has it happened to you that a small problem makes it big? Sometimes we make small mistakes, we call that stupidity. However, many of us love the drama, and we stay in that error that we become a problem. It is important to stop before it becomes a monster with many heads, so, I tell you how stupidity is minimized.

There was an occasion I was meeting with a group of people I had just met, we were talking pleasantly and in the middle of the conversation we learned of a coming party, so I showed great enthusiasm and impulsively offered to give a cake. Subsequent days unexpected expenses were presented to me, so the plans changed.

With weeks in advance of the event, I went to the event planner and I notified her that I could not comply with the offer. Very sorry I apologized and briefly explained my reasons. However, the organizer's response displeased me, because she told me with disenchantment and judgment "think better before offering". Although she used a soft tone of voice, anyway it bothered me. I felt judged.

In a few hours, a simple inconvenience had already turned it  into a bad day. It seemed quite unfair to me, since the world was not going to end up not taking a cake to a simple, informal meeting with very few guests. Besides, only I had offered to contribute something. That day we agreed to meet later, an appointment that I did not attend because I was uncomfortable talking with that person, nor did I want to see her face.

At the end of the day I realized my tremendous childish behavior. After analyzing it from different points of view, I understood that she was right to say "think better before offering". Yes, I was wrong to impulsively offer the cake !. I could see the depth of those words, and the bad time that would have saved me if I applied it. Whether or not she understood my reasons why I could not comply with what I offered, is already her business. However, the experience  has left me a great lesson.


MINIMIZE THE STUPIDITY

The intention for which I share this experience is basically to illustrate how a small mistake we make a big problem. As I mentioned earlier, we love drama, we always intend to be considered. And in our effort to be understood, we repeat the story in our head, we tell it as many times as possible to everyone who crosses the path. That's when the discomfort grows.

Here's what I propose to minimize stupidity, these are simple actions that will prevent an error from becoming a monster with many heads.

  1. When faced with a difficulty or misunderstanding, it is better not to expect good reactions from others, like it or not, simply state your reasons.
  2. Always try to keep calm. If it is difficult, breathe deeply and be distracted by anything that makes you forget for a minute that bad time. 
  3. Check that you can take advantage of that experience. It is useful for me to decree "within this situation there is a hidden good for me, I bless that good and I ask that it be manifested"
  4. If you feel very tempted to tell others your stupidity, treat it with humor. Prepare a comedian script in your head, lowering the tone to sarcasm and raising the tone to the funny note of what you lived, You might think something like you felt so embarrassed wanting so much to be ostrich to put your head under the ground.
  5. Congratulate yourself for the courage you had when facing an uncomfortable situation and how you could solve it in the most intelligent way. If the other person understood it or not, that's already your issue.
  6. When you feel more calm and you see that everything was stupid, consider meeting again with these people as if nothing happened. Now, if it really is not worth giving yourself the opportunity because you continually live with these people similar situations, cut it off, and meet with those who are worthwhile. 


You really grow as a human being when you appreciate your time and your energy. Stop wasting them on stupid things. "To err is human and to forgive is wise". The first you must forgive is yourself for torturing yourself with the same mistake over and over again. Also consider forgiving the one who does not understand you and the one who can not see the world as you see it. The challenge of each day is to cope with life without coiling so much. So I invite you to put these useful tips into practice.  

As always dear Stemian I really appreciate the time to read this article. I appreciate your vote and comment. Remember to share to spread the good vibes !!!!


 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71