How to make a beef stock properly

in #life7 years ago

nov1317 022.JPG
I am going to tell guys and gals how to make proper stock for sauces or soups. For starters, stocks are made with the bones or deboned animal carcuses. Broth is made when you stew a piece of meat like chicken, pot roast etc... In this case, I am using beef nuckle bones that have been cut down to extract more flavour from them.
I am making a brown stock, so these bones will be roasted in the oven at around 350 to 375 degrees.
nov1317 024.JPG
once the bones have browned, at a mirepox which consists of 2 parts onions, 1 part each of carrot and celery cut in about one inch pieces. I had some leftover red onion I through in for hell of it. Also, you can add mirepox to the stock pot with the bones. I like roasting my vegetables, to enhance the flavour of the stock. The mirepox is a standard mix for most stocks with the exception of vegetable stocks.![nov1317 027.JPG]
()
Throw all the roasted bones and mirepox suitable sized stock pot. Add some bay leaves.
nov1317 029.JPG
Garlic
nov1317 028.JPG
Parsely, I use dried parley because it is what I had on hand.
nov1317 025.JPG
Deglaze your roasting pan there is alot of flavour there. If you want to deglaze with wine or some kind of alcohal that is fine. I don't drink so I use water.nov1317 030.JPG
Fill the stock pot with water just enough to cover the bones. If you are using raw bones or carcuses, use cold water the bones are roasted use can use hot water.nov1317 031.JPG
Bring the stock to a boil , then reduce the heat to low . Simmer stock for 7 to 8 hours.
nov1317 034.JPG
strain the stock.
nov1317 035.JPG
Skim the animal fat off the top of the stock and you are ready to make sauces or soups. You can also refrigerate the stock and peel the fat off the top

Sort:  

Big fan of the stocks! Been making some from turkey carcass recently. It makes for a nice warm drink in the winter. Good share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51