Why We Are Here to Destroy Our Kid's Pure And Lovely Soul?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)


This picture always reminds me how blessed I am as me and my little sisters can grow up in a lovely family without stress and pains, only with LOVE.

This morning I was woken up by a call from my old friend who has a almost 2 year-old beautiful little daughter. I was surprised because we didn’t keep in touch for many years. The reason she called me was asking for the advice about her daughter’s education plan.

I was a kindergarten teacher before I started flying. The reason of being a teacher is so simple - I love kids, so natural, pure and innocent souls. Their reactions, their smiles, even their crying are so beautiful. However, I quitted after 7 months due to this horrible education system.

How awful is the education environment in Hong Kong? The 'standard' education plan for kids now : go playgroup every day when they are almost two or even only one and a half. FYI. The concept of ‘playgroup’ here is quite different from the western one. Hong Kong version of the playgroup classes focus on studying rather than exercising. In a 2-hour class, kid needs to study Chinese and English for 1 hour 15 minutes then they can play with toys and others kids for the rest of time.

Then when they are two, they are advised to go to ’N Class’ (Pre-Nursery) . N class is for giving kids opportunities to get used to social life when they study in the kindergarden. The class is not necessary. It costs more than US $700 every month but the parents think it’s worth. They believe that their kids must have to 'WIN AT THE STARTING LINE' (贏在起跑線上/赢在起跑线上) - 3 year-old kids know 3-4 languages, at least one instrument, and what is self-discipline and how to behave well in front of others. I worked for a private (non-government-funding) kindergarden so I could also see more how the money functions within the education system : how the principles please the rich parents for money, but at the same time, exploit the students from ‘Lower Class’.

The society is so sick now. So many ridiculous rules and ideologies are created and people all believe they are ‘right’. This atmosphere produces lots of 'Helicopter Parents' who want to control their kids’ life and they don't know that they are killing their lovely kids slowly. ‘I just want to give them the best life.’ I heard so many times from the parents I met. What is ‘The Best Life’? Everybody has different definition of ‘The Best’ but sorry that your kid doesn’t understand what is 'The Best'. In their perspectives, they just want to play and think their reliable and beloved parents are pushing them into a dark corner. Now school is a place without freedom which is the most important for the little babies to feel and understand the world though. Why don't the parents put themselves into their kid’s shoes as they all experienced how schools constricted them when they were kid? Kids should know the world by being in nature but not by rushing to go to school. They need LOVE, not MONEY and SUCCESS. Honestly, I’m a bit worried about our next generation, really, I am.

Anyways, what I answered to my friend made her disappointed, I could feel that. I just told her," Go to ask your little girl what she really wants to do now except going to playgroup and school. Then her answer is my answer."

Much love,
Gladys

I love my nephew so much. What a chubby guy! I do hope he can grow up beautifully with our love and strengths in this scary world. This is the best for him <3

Please follow @gladysmak

Pictures are captured from Google.

Sort:  

Best article ever! So sad and SO TRUE! Every parent should read this. I am so happy you have this level of awareness @gladysmak . You will be a wonderful mother, your kid (hopefully our kid) will be the happiest and healthiest kid ever! Screw the today's idea of "success" and "best life"! Kids are geniuses BEFORE we make them INTO MACHINES FOR SUCCESS. Love love love. Life is so simple when we step out of the rat race and tune into the heart! I * L O V E * Y O U ~!

Thanks for your comment love. You're right. Kids are geniuses. They actually know much more than us as our minds are already polluted seriously, so that's why people need to be awake now especially the parents. I always believe that how a kid will be depends on the parents but not the school. But so sad to see that the roles between parents and school are swapping. School, exams and marks become everything. What we can do for the kids is to give them love as you mentioned. Love can make them strong and to be a better person to face all the difficulties and challenges. I love you too:)

Beautifully put...upvoted and followed. The educational system in the US had evolved into an instrument of social indoctrination. I pulled my 4 kids out and homeschooled them. That way I could teach them according to their individual personality. Kids are different and learn differently. I wanted them to grow up to be themselves, not part of some mass produced paradigm.

Thank you @richq11. Followed you back. After reading your words make me feel like WOW such a good father who knows what is the better way to grow up his kids according to their personalities and talents. And very important thing is let them go and free themselves. Its so hard to do it for the parents right now because they think kids belong to them and don't want the kids to suffer so much like what they did in childhood. Intention is good but using a wrong way. So sad to see that :(

Great post ! Upvoted and resteemed ! 👍👍👍

Thank you so much for loving it :)

I agree about education. I am homeschooling/unschooling my 5,9, and 12-year olds. They learn what they are interested in and it is so much better.
Thanks for talking about this on Steemit.

Thanks for reading it. And I believe you must be a wonderful and amazing mother. Your kids must be so proud of you because you do give them what they need : respect, love and support:) I followed you. I would love to know more health knowledge from you too!

Awesome! Thanks for the follow. It's great that you are learning all of these things before you have your own children. All the best!

What's it they say in HK? HK$4 million to raise a kid? i think that partly the reason parents are stressed.

Yes. Actually it is the myth that the mass media creates. I remember this concept was from HSBC or other bank's commercial. They tried to persuade the middle class parents invest their financial plan about kid's education. So thats why so many people in HK don't wanna have baby and so stressed about how much they need to spend on their kids. But in our generation, i don't think my parents would worry that much before they made me lol. So actually just depend on how you grow them up in other ways. Funny ideology.

Oh my and I see that statement repeated in the TV drama more than a few times. So, the media is part of the culprit in spreading the fear, uncertainty and doubt. Kind of like how some thing is sold.

What you said is so true.Our soul,freedom and so many things actually are already sold. People are giving up for fighting for what actually they should get back from the government, monopolists,school etc... people are just afraid of changing and as you said- uncertainty maybe.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57102.05
ETH 2348.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33