Roll TIde! Do you know what that means?

in #life7 years ago

I grew up in Texas and football was big but believe it or not its a bigger cultural thing in Alabama. It took me a while to catch on and see how serious people really are about football here. I was reminded this morning when I went through the bank drive through. When my transaction was complete the teller said, “Roll Tide!” It is customary to repeat back so I abliged and drove away.

Tonight is the SEC National champioship and the Alabama Crimson Tide plays against the Georgia Bulldogs. I had forgotten all about it until my bank experience. I am now getting ready to tune in at 7:00 pm central to watch the game. My wife is a native Alabamian so it is expected of me to say, “Roll Tide.”
I am 100% positive that if anyone on Steemit is from Alabama they will comment on this post. There might even be a few that will reply from Georgia.

70BAB287-A6DF-4C47-8302-CAE38FC7CB62.jpeg

Sort:  

and go tigers...although that didn't go so well this year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45