Sending steeming love, support and light to a friend.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A Steemit- E - Card.

I spent much of last night awake.

Volumz, a TV programme dedicated to showcasing indigenous music, is my companion when I have sleepless nights.

I have had a run of bad nights with pain and little sleep.

I am grateful to have the company of NITV.

I don't often get to rein over the remote control of our only TV.

A couple of months ago I posted about Ruby Hunter, who I watched one sleepless night.

I watched her again this morning, around 2am, with her husband Archie Roach.


They were performing little sister.

It made me think of my friend Mark.

Mark calls me Sissie, sister.

Mark told me yesterday that he lost his actual little sister this week.
He has lived through so much loss and pain.

This is the track that had me thinking of my friend.


Marky, I know there is nothing I can say or do to take away your pain, but I want you to know I wish there was.

Mark is a musician, a bass player.

He has put his bass down these last few months. I know that is significant. That it speaks volumes about how he feels. Music to Mark is like breathing. I know he will pick it up again when it is right for him.

Mark is also the engineer / artist who built the mechanical Christmas Tree I posted in December.


I have posted about how our friendship came about before. It is a rare story of friendship born of terrible circumstance. But it is also a testament of the power of positive human virtues.

This is us.

I had just buzzed my hair off for charity.

IMG_20180217_052920.jpg
I am pretending to play for the photo. The guitar was signed by a well-known Australian musician Ian Moss, and was auctioned that night.

We volunteered together for a charity in Australia that advocates for survivors of childhood sexual abuse.

I gave Mark this drawing at that event. I fashioned the drawing from his bass and included symbols that are meaningful to us and our friendship. He tells me all the time it is his treasure.

IMG_20180217_052945.jpg

Mark.

You are a treasure.

You are on my mind and in my heart.



Steemit.

When I post here I send him my links. Your comments have an impact.

They have power.

I want to share the connection I have here with real people who truly care. If anyone has a track they want to share or some good vibes, please do.

Mark has recently shutdown his facebook page and is considering steemit.

He is a beautiful man with so much heart, too much maybe.

Help me fill that heart with love and support, good vibes and maybe a linked track or 2.

13323461_251448791882668_8177550636171283508_o.jpg


IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

National Indigenous Television.
Dedicated to the lives, culture, rights and celebration of the first nation people from Australia and around the world.

https://www.sbs.com.au/nitv/

Sort:  

Dear Mark, I trust you know what a cherished friend (and brother) you are to @girlbeforemirror. For this, I am grateful to you. I've learned about her story, including the hardships in her current life situation, and I've seen the way she views you as a key figure in the story she shares. I feel that you are a vital source of Light in her life. For this, I am beyond grateful. I am moved to action: Writing to thank you, to wish you well, to acknowledge you for bearing that Light. For her, for you, for all of us. Thank you again.

I feel sorry for your losses. I can't even imagine the heaviness you must've encountered in this life. I'm stretching now, trying to fathom how you've managed to hold that Light for so long, for your sister here. I get the feeling you have a Light in your life too, and I wonder if it's the music you play. I understand how healing music can be. I understand the way it lifts us. I believe I can understand how meaningful it must've been to put your bass down, recently, symbolically silencing the music in you. I can understand how meaningful it might be to pick your bass up again, and blast it aloud.

Wherever you're at in the process of being a Light, thank you once more. Personally, I'm learning to follow the example of the Sun and focus my rays into potent beams, even when I feel a bit dim. I'm learning from the Moon, and holding a glow. I'm looking to the Stars, and seeing that they enjoy being seen. Also, I'm noticing that the state of Lightness is a double-meaning: (1) luminance; and (2) airiness. I'm wondering why our language allows for luminosity and density to be unified by this one word: Lightness; and I'm coming to the conclusion that it's supposed to be that way. With all the heaviness and darkness in this world, it fills me up with joy to recognize a person like you, who makes things Lighter. My wish for you, Mark, is that you can feel and sense and see your own Lightness.

And on the subject of Sun, Moon, Stars, and music:

Dear Mark
I know how much you mean to @girlbeforemirror. Firstly, I am so sorry for the losses you have experienced, there really are no words that do justice to convey my condolences for you past suffering.
Following your story for the past years I must tell you how much I admire you. You inspire such strength and compassion.
I so very much appreciate your continued presence in @girlbeforemirror"s life. You are a cherished friend.
Thinking of you. x

Hi, Mark. I just want you to know...
this too shall pass. It will. Just give it time.

And Sissie, you said:
'Mark has recently shutdown his facebook page and is considering steemit.
He is a beautiful man with so much heart too much maybe.'

He'll be welcome here. Bring him over so he can be a part of this everyday.

Hi Mark
This is my favourite alphabet song.
It makes me happy. My mum thinks you would like it too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79