My Heart Swells With Gratitude

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Today I woke to the wonder of Steemit

The magic that I have observed over the past year on steemit was sweeping in my direction.

As I tap away on my phone in my bed I seldom imagine the weight of my words.
Too often I choose an over inclusive combination of a jumbled thesaurus to communicate.
I can't spell, but I spin words.

My husband (@azurejasper) is a different breed of creature.

PSX_20170626_131623.jpg

We often say he is the Eeyore that grounds my Tigger.

His humble, honest words struck a chord.

Thank you for hearing his words and responding to him.

I will in time thank you each properly. Right now my head is swimming with the magnitude of goodness. It is also a little foggy from my illness.

As he said, we seldom let people know about our difficulties.

We have been a team for a very long time, and historically we bury ourselves in difficult times.

I couldn't let this happen again. He and our children needed support and @azurejasper needed reminding of the goodness that resides in humanity.

Too often the worst of people, the stuff that makes the evening news becomes what we believe to be the sum of human kind.

My recent experience with community work had shown me otherwise

But my darling husband was yet to be convinced. All he could see was that it broke my body.

But he conceded, and allowed some neighbours in with meals.

Risking his pride and revealing his vulnerability the simplest of gestures transformed our chaotic evenings.
A seemingly small, but in truth huge and brave step.

As he opened the door a little bit of light was let in.
Baffled at first, he saw that given the opportunity, people might be OK, and might just want to help because it is nice to help.


Perhaps you have seen his post

https://steemit.com/life/@azurejasper/sharing-this-isn-t-easy-for-me-and-i-m-not-comfortable-about-it-but-this-community-has-become-so-important-to-girlbeforemirror


Sometimes in life you get lucky

When we met each other we felt in our teens like veterans of life. Like we had expended all of our energy too soon.

IMG_20170626_131859.jpg

Together we began to build something.

Like everyone, we would build and somehow the things we built would be torn down.
For all our efforts sometimes it felt like we were getting nowhere.
Times like this it is easy to start to think of yourself as a victim of circumstance.

But gratitude is not dependant on circumstance.

Gratitude resides in your perspective. Your circumstance can remain unchanged but feel completely different given a new perspective.

To view the world with gratitude is to see it anew.


The world has sat heavily on my husbands shoulders

Today. Thanks to you. Thanks to Steemit.

I received a text message that I have never read the likes of from him before.
It simply read

People Are Awesome!


Thank you for your support.

PSX_20170525_133321.jpg

You have given so much more than you know.
You have given a man a gift of faith and hope, and restored a belief in people.

I know this great gesture will continue to impact our family as the gratitude transforms our thinking and our beliefs. It will in turn impact behaviours and actions.
Because of this our lives regardless of what will be will also transform.
Because of the gift of humanity that you gave to a husband and father.

Regardless of what the future holds.


Today is the anniversary of that mega marathon run. My team are running the first of seven marathons today without me. It is very much a day of mixed emotions.

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

We will all be with you through this. I had a good time meeting you so long ago on steemit now, and had no idea about the serious issues you were dealing with.

Get with me again on chat sometime and let's talk a little more. I'd like to help.

Thank you Papa. You have been a constant support since I started on steemit.
I have sent you a message today. You are very generous, I know you have helped many people, your friendship alone is a great gift to me.

Quite touching. Frankly, I don't know where to begin. Sometimes, we are faced with trials in life that leads us to question," why me"," why us", what have I done wrong to warrant me/us of this, that leads you to desperation and to think the unthinkable. Maybe, it is God testing our faith and our strength which will eventually lead us to a solution. AS HE ALWAYS SAYS, " ASK AND IT WILL BE GIVEN UNTO YOU", " SEEK, AND YOU WILL FIND"," KNOCK, AND MY DOOR WILL BE OPENED UNTO YOU". Just hold on and have patience and it will come without you knowing. GODBLESS AND ACCEPT MY PRAYERS.

I have never had a time in my life when I have felt such gratitude. It is definitely in contrast to our situation. But I've really learnt to treasure what I have, and during my visits to hospital I have met people with enormous challenges, who have endless courage and positivity.
It is impossible to wallow too long in your own misfortune when sharing a room with a champion like those I have met.

(((((Hugs))))) Wish I was closer so I could bring you some food! And, come draw/paint with you! Love from Oregon! <3

Sending vibes back to you from Sydney x

That's so beautiful. I'm so glad that he was granted a different view of humanity than what is presented in the mainstream media--- or even what you might experience in your average city! There is an amazing heartbeat of real Love at the core of human beings; there are so many that dedicate themselves to their own betterment and that of others. When we focus on those special people & connect with them, the visions of violence and sorrow begin to come into a greater context. Then we begin to grow in our compassion, no longer do we see people as evil, only misguided. Thank you for sharing your story.

I am so sorry that you both are being put through trials of health and misfortune. I wish I had Steem power to make a difference for you financially, but please take my humble penny upvote and well wishes for your love and strength. It comes from the bottom of my heart.
I am so glad you were able to convince your husband to accept some help. It isn't a sign of weakness. Everyone needs help sometimes and it is not a reflection on your capability to handle things. On the contrary, it shows that you are strong enough to let others in and help where they can.
Also, if you ever need a laugh, I am at your service.

We are all rooting for you! Stay strong!

My heart goes out to you! Praying for complete healing from the top of your head to the soles of your feet. Complete and perfect health incthe name of Jesus. Giving him praise for the price he paid for that healing. God bless you.

God bless you!

Your family aren't the only ones being changed by this. I didn't really process everything his post said and my mind jumped into action mode. Turns out I was humbled by another member enough to make me realize that I hadn't thought at all after you shared that post with me. I didn't even know your husband was on steemit! I'm not too proud to admit that I've now broken down multiple times today over this and that even though I read this when you posted it I couldn't even really formulate a response. Thanks for the opportunity to help and for being an extremely inspiring and humbling friend. Best wishes for a speedy recovery! Namaste.

To think that you have been unintentionally upset by our story is distressing to me too.
While we don't declare our relationship frequently, as he is more of a techy, crypto, digital contributor, and I am more of a painting scrawling one, it has come up from time to time.
We are both great fans of your work and your insights and the fabulous Coffee philosophy.
Thank you for always contributing with your heart and soul.
I have sent you a message on steemit chat too. Don't feel obligated to respond, but I am there if you want to chat, anytime.

It's not really an upset feeling. More like a feeling of just awe at the whole situation. Don't distress, my journey needed some more humility, trust me! I don't know what my future holds, but I hope it's something like what you two share. :)

Hugs from Italy!!! Stay positive and strong!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99