Colour Challenge . Sunny days ☀Orange 🍊

in #life6 years ago

My orange colour challenge is late.

Later than my Red.

My rainbow is going to be an unconventional presentation with regard to the colour challenge.

Over a couple of weeks rather than the usual consecutive seven days.

Can I blame the weather?

Olaf wouldn't.
But he has his own personal flurry.

PSX_20190116_091437.jpg

Man I wish I had my own flurry right now.

It is 45 degrees!

Living in the southern hemisphere is like being the strange poor cousins, we do everything in reverse but with reverence to the goings on in your world.

As I write this, no kidding, my child is sitting in his underwear underneath the air-con unit doing a painting and singing,
Dashing through the snow.

Here is my orange post.

In our "new home" we have a fabulous 80s kitchen with gorgeous orange tiles. The bathroom is matching. I love it actually.

PSX_20190116_092644.jpg

We have a little orange tree 🍊 🌲.

IMG20190116084116.jpg
For now anyway, as long as it can survive our little golden pup. 🐕😈

I can't think of oranges without thinking of @hlezama and this post about oranges and hope for humanity in the hands of children. from Venezuela.

He reminded me of how lucky I am.

PSX_20190116_092058.jpg

Of the things my kids take for granted and perhaps his did too until recently.

I have quite a few breakfasts when I have cut an orange or my children have declined fruit and I have thought of him and the kids he encountered at the market.

Check out the posts tagged Venezuela and support our fellow steemians if you can. Steemit is a rare opportunity to effect people's lives at zero expense.


Soon after moving in we had some big storms. We had a whole bunch of these pop up.

PSX_20190116_094101.jpg

PSX_20190116_093304.jpg

PSX_20190116_093533.jpg

PSX_20190116_092832.jpg

At first I thought they might be marigolds, but they just got bigger and bigger.

They are similar but some are towering at about 6 feet high now.

IMG_20190117_160559.jpg

Life is about perspective. We have made decisions that were not our plan A or B based around circumstances that we don't consider lucky. But everything is relative. Steemit always provides opportunity for gratitude and reframing.

We are lucky.

PSX_20181231_192756.jpg

New Year pizza 🍕 and sunset with our kids.

PSX_20181231_201438.jpg

PSX_20181231_193957.jpg

And a spot of strumalong.

Sort:  

Hi, there. Thanks for the mention.I am flattered that you remember that post and keep us in your thoughts.

I love those orange tiles, by the way. they look great.

Those yellowish/orangish flowers reminded me of my home. I worked a garden for my mother around those flowers. I actually went a bit beyond our house and ended up planting around a square in front of my mother's house. Unfortunatelly, our neighbors did not appreciate the work and they let the weed and naughty kids do their thing. I could visit only ocassionally and have not gone back in years now.
There are no more flowers now, they tell me.
20150208_004.jpg

20141217_023.jpg

20141217_029.jpg

20141217_030.jpg

20141218_003.jpg

20141218_002.jpg

20141218_010.jpg

@girlbeforemirror,

Living in the southern hemisphere is like being the strange poor cousins, we do everything in reverse but with reverence to the goings on in your world.

Just yesterday, I was explaining Steemit to guy in a parking lot and mentioned that I had a friend in Australia (you) who was moaning about the heat. He looked perplexed. I ended up explaining that the seasons are reversed in the northern and southern hemispheres ... a fact which I erroneously believed was universal knowledge ... and which I'd bet is in fact universal south of the equator.

There's no doubt that humanity's focus is on lands north of the equator and that us northerners ought to make an effort to be more informed. If I'm being honest, I'm part of the problem, making meaning out of metaphor.

Having traveled a lot, I've met a lot of people and, when recounting my travels, default to simple analogies to speed things along.

And so, Australians are reduced to being "warm Canadians." For Americans, this saves 100 paragraphs of explanation. Don't feel too bad though because New Zealanders get reduced to being "cold Australians."

If it's any consolation, I've never met an Aussie or Kiwi I didn't like and I tell people that too. And, in recognition of the fact that misery loves company, know that Canadians get pissed about being reduced to the '51st state.' :-)

Great orangeness throughout.

Quill

You might have the Aussie kiwi thing in reverse.
The way I see it, Australians and Americans are the louder prouder versions, while Canada and New Zealand quietly try to keep their fabulous existence to themselves, while their more... What is that word you favour? Their more VERBOSE, or just plain boastful cousins attract more attention. Not always for the right reasons.
I don't gain a great following from my country men and women on steemit for expressing such statements, but I am not keen on country alliances on this global platform. There are some fabulous Aussies here for sure, but I don't like the idea of voting on something because of geographic proximity. I enjoy interacting with earthlings from all corners, don't care about wallet size or flag wearing.
That's the cool thing about steemit . If I wanted to find my class mates or a local knitting alliance I'd go to facebook.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 110 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81