I received UNUSUAL and NOBLE offer - HELP me to decide!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

As you already know I moved from Zagreb (Croatia) to Lisbon (Portugal) to seek for some new adventures and the pursuit of happyness. I don't want to bother you with usual stuff like adjusting to new environment, work place, people and culture but I want to share one situation that happened to me.

Weeks ago, my girlfriend and I had a visit from friend of mine from Zagreb and we took her to see "Miradouro de Santa Catarina" (really amazing place to just sit, chill and enjoy the sun).

Lissabon-Lisboa-Lisbon-Portugal-2015-Travel-2-15-e1485182865103.jpg

(Photo: http://www.findingberlin.com/lisboa-a-berlin-favorite)

We were just having our moment there with drinks & chips, enjoying the view in perfect weather conditions (there is no real winter in Lisbon). After some time a group of men appeared near us trying to take a selfie. I realized that they are Benfica fans (called "No Name Boys") and they were struggling with that selfie because they were little bit drunk (since it was a match day against Setubal). Kata (my girlfriend) offered to take a photo of them instead of their struggle and they were amazed with that offer. After some photo shooting I started a conversation with one of them about football fans and their relations with Torcida (Hajduk Split fans).

He was telling me the story about Champions league match Hajduk vs. Benfica back in 1994. There was only nine "No Name Boys" on Poljud (Hajduk Split stadium) and they were hosted really nice by the Torcida guys. On the way back to Portugal they had a car accident in which two of the No Name Boys died.

Long story short - that sad event made a lifetime bond between these two groups.

After a while he offered us to go on stadium and watch the game with them but we already had our plans for the rest of the day so we rejected politely and I said to him that I want to go with them on the biggest football match in Portugal - Derby de Lisboa / Benfica Vs. Sporting. He stopped for a moment, looking me straight in the eyes and asked:

"Do you really want to go to that match?"

-"Yes, why not." - I said.

"But be careful, do you really want to go with us on the match between Benfica and Sporting, it's in the beginning of January?" - he asked.

-"Yes, I really wanna go, but only if you guys will take care of me there" - I replied.

"Then listen carefully, I am going on vacation in the Vietnam in the end of December. That means that I will not be able to go to the match. I have my "red card" - annual pass for ultras zone on all Benfica's matches. Look, this guy here is my brother, I will leave my card to him and he will give it to you on the match day. I'll add you on Facebook so we can stay in contact for the details, is that okay for you?"

I was stunned by that offer and I didn't reply immediately. He took his phone and asked for my name, than he clicked "Add friend" and said:

"Think, and if you want to go contact me and I'll give you my card."

Benfica-Sporting-7.jpg

(Photo: http://www.ultras-tifo.net)

And here we are. Tomorrow is a match day. I can say one of those "once in the lifetime chances" and "once in lifetime offers". I still don't know if I will accept the offer and contact him tonight. I want to go but I'm not sure yet...

What would you do in my place?

Will inform you tomorrow if I went or not. Till then...

Kind regards,

GG

Sort:  

Oldest trick in the book they wont your kidneys. Be careful dued! 😂

In 20 years from now.....You will regret that you didn't send a message...

I know I will...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61358.50
ETH 3378.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52