You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HAPPINESS IS... (up to) YOU!

in #life7 years ago

I agree. At least nowadays - Happiness is up to me.

But when I was suffering from depression this truth didn't help. It made me feel worse about myself.

I felt that if happiness was up to me then I was doomed because my unhappiness was just another proof that reinforced my already low opinion of myself.

How I see it now is that happiness is my natural state. I don't have to make it happen by doing the right thing or thinking happy thoughts.

Letting my thoughts come and go without attaching to them, choosing to see them as just thoughts rather than truth and not getting stuck in the story let's my natural happiness shine through.

Of course, there are times when I still get stuck in the story and believe my thinking but, on the whole, I see through that much faster these days. And I'm very grateful for that!

Sort:  

Absolutely LOVE this....

How I see it now is that happiness is my natural state. I don't have to make it happen by doing the right thing or thinking happy thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53