You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The eternal heartache of a distant dad

in #life6 years ago

That's wonderful that you're going to be seeing your daughter soon Asher @abh12345.

An acceptance of the situation, and learning to be OK with decisions I've made.

This is critical I think. You did the best you could at the time with what was available to you. If you could have done "better" you would have. It's so easy to look back with our current eyes and see what we could have done differently. But we weren't where we are now, back then.

I was convinced that, when my son , was little I was depressed all the time and couldn't enjoy him at all. Then recently I saw a video of us together when he was about 9 months and we were both really happy and enjoying each other. I was really surprised and the rest of the family were really surprised to learn that I thought I was miserable all the time.

It's not that I wasn't depressed. I was. And severely so. It's just that, although that's what I remember most it isn't all there is to remember.

But more important is to remember that that is over now. There's no value in revisiting it.

Please try and let go of expectation as much as you can and be with your daughter fully, now. As much as you can don't take the past with you.

Meet her where you both are this weekend. Don't think about what will happen in the future and miss these next few days.

None of us know what is ahead and we have much less control than we like to think we do.

Revel in the moment of being with her. It makes no sense in thinking about the future when she's right in front of you.

Love and hugs! 💙

Sort:  

Hi Gillian

Thanks for sharing a some of your personal life, and experience you have gained from that.

I really like

Meet her where you both are this weekend. Don't think about what will happen in the future and miss these next few days

and

Revel in the moment of being with her. It makes no sense in thinking about the future when she's right in front of you.

And I will try my best to heed your advice and do exactly that.

Thank you! x

💙 💛 💜 💚 💙 💛 💜 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65