What do you do with unwanted gifts?

in #life8 years ago

                          

Image credit

Christmas is a wonderful time of love, peace and tranquility.  It is a time for families to come together and spend some peaceful time together. Christmas is also a time for giving and sharing!

... but it's also a time for overspending and buying some very unnecessary things.  

Giving a present to someone, shows that you really care about them.  My husband is like a child if he receives a present.  He can't wait to open a present and gets so excited.  Unfortunately I am just the opposite.  Presents don't excite me, and sometimes even scare me.....as you never know what is hidden behind that beautiful wrapping paper....

  

Image credit

I am much so more into giving than to receiving!  

I am not ungrateful, and I have received many presents in my lifetime.... but A LOT of those presents were things that I either didn't need or I just didn't like. People should really ask what you like, before they assume that you will like something.  I totally support the idea of creating a wish list at a shop and then practically "force" everyone to buy things that I want.  

What do you do with these unwanted gifts?

                                              

Image credit 

                                                        

Image credit

I have always been a very practical person and  if I don't need something then I just don't buy it.  My family members have learned through the years that it is better to give me money, instead of presents.  

I really hate surprises!  The occasional little surprise here and there is fine, like meeting a long lost friend in town, but I would much rather buy my own presents, than to receive something I don't want.   

So I am a bit complicated right?  

 I just really don't want anyone to waste their money to buy something that I am just going to put away in a box, and potentially just throw away.

            

Image credit

So the moral of the story is, think before you buy!  Don't waste your money this Christmas.  Don't buy things that you don't really need and don't just buy things just for the sake of buying!  Be considerate when you buy something for a friend.  Most importantly, don't buy them things that you actually want, then rather spend the money on yourself.  

Christmas is slowly creeping up on us.  Do your Christmas shopping early and avoid the rush!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Finding the right Christmas present can be pretty challenging. I usually ask my family what they want for Christmas and buy that. I prefer that they get a gift the will use, instead of a useless surprise :)

Practical giving. In today's life everything is sooooo expensive. Pity it takes all the fun out of presents but we have to think more practical to save money.

verdade,devemos comprar o necessário

Obrigado pelo seu comentário. Agora eu aprendi a usar o google translate!

imagina por nada,tenha um ótimo dia.

Tenha um ótimo dia também

Man if everyone just thought this way... Christmas would be Christmas again... Have a merry one! I wuld rather just have a gathering of folks, good food and wine... what a true gift that is.

That is true. I would even skip the family gathering...LOL!!

Ha yeah sometimes one too many gatherings when I could be home just enjoying the smells o fthe tree and something good to sip. Charity... if you repack them, that will come back at you... selling them seems wrong so I think somewhere there must be someone that could use whatever.

i give away to someone who can use

Sharing is caring! Thanks for your comment😊

I would rather get a card which said, "A donation was made to a homeless shelter with the money I was about to spend on you".

Donations are an excellent idea for Chrismas. It is all about giving right? 😄

Great post mate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55