People or sheeple?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A few months ago, I saw this video on a different social media platform. You might have seen this, but it's really funny, so watch it again.  

In this video, people just bluntly followed what other's did. Nobody knew exactly what this beep was for, but everybody stood up when the bell rang. The behavior spread like an infectious disease.  I truly had a hard time believing this, but apparently this experiment was done more than once and the outcome was the same every time. Would people really do this?

If this is in fact true, I know for a fact that I am not a sheep. If I had to take part in this experiment, I would have definitely been the odd one out. If everyone went left, I would've taken the road to the right. I am simply not easily influenced. I totally have my own mindset, and some people might even brand me as a hardheaded person. Most of the mistakes that I have made in my life, I made because I am either stubborn or hardheaded, and I needed to learn from my own mistakes.  I really struggle with grey areas.  In my little world, something is either right, or not. For me there is simply no in between. 

Majority rules!


In this day and age, peer pressure can really make life difficult.  Kids and often adults have low self esteem, and they feel the need to prove themselves to others.  They want to be part of a group.  They want to belong somewhere.  They often don't get enough attention from their parents, or as and adult might need more attention from their partner or even friends. People start doing things that they would not usually do, just because they want to fit in.....  

Image source

People also do not think of the repercussions of their actions.  They are so insecure, that they believe they have to follow others just to be accepted.  Believe me, if someone makes you do something you don't really want to do, you don't even want to be friends with them!  Get rid of these people and follow your own mind.  Show some courage and go upstream.  If you keep on following the herd, then you too will be classified as a sheep one of these days.   


Image source

You should live your own life, and be what you want to be, just because YOU want to, and not because someone forced you or steered you in that direction.  

It is time that we stop caring what others think of us!  Dress the way that you feel comfortable and eat the food you like.  Life is way too short and if you live your life according to what other's think of you or want you to do, then you are not living your own life....are you?

Image source

Please follow me ...or not...

Sort:  

I am going to make a post just exactly like yours... Just to prove your point.

Ha ha....or not...

Awesome sit up exercise! LOL.

What a beautiful text Yvette. Most sheeple around us (specially the steemit test, most don't like to join). I have lost too much being stubborn or skeptical in my life but still proud of myself as you.

Thank you Manjit. Too many people following others...I have now given up on begging other people to join. If people would just listen LOL! The lady that I work with complains every single day about her salary and the fact that she doesn't have money. You can bring a horse to the water but you can't force it to drink!

So true!

Perhaps they are donkeys and not horses...LOL!

Ha..hahaa!!

I loved the experiment! Amazing how people follow and do things without understanding the reason. Its definitely harder for kids nowadays to be part of groups or friends, because they need they have to do something to fit in. I am definitely teaching my daughter to be happy how she is and not to rely on others for acceptance.

Do you only have one child? How old is your daughter? Like I said I am a very stubborn person, but I am happy, and that is the most important. We all have our little place in the sun and no one else can make you happy except yourself.

Yes, she is eight, soon to be nine in summer! She is also on steemit posting her art @cmgsteems :) That is true...Self happiness is what counts!

Brilliant, just checked out her account. My son is also here (the younger one) @littlebear

Oh wonderful! I will check and follow him too! :)

Nice one, its true many a time people just follow and perhaps we are all guilty

Keep up the Great work @giantbear

STEEM ON!!

Ha ha this was really funy i see this first time . I know very well the sindrom of the sheeps and no im not one of them :) Is not i am outsider orstaburn but every one hadto make efort or get a time to convinse me why i have to do something . And in a situation like tis probabli i will be the one siting down :)

Oh I am the same...people have to explain to me why I have to do something before I do it...especially my husband...lol! You and I will both be sitting....lol

Damm and the other ships will follow us on end !

Lmao and this is why the world is like this

Very worrying .

I see this video too on fb, i think she was convinced that its an ex ercise that good for you while waiting, keeping the blood alive..

How about people copying someone 's article, can we call them sheeple too..

haha👻👻👻

Hello I am about to bring you caos.
My name is Marcos, I'm Spanish and I have been lucky enough to be pointed in your life path.
I am having a difficult time 'Cos I came about an idea nobody has tried yet and I can not sleep.
I beg you, follow the link bellow ONLY when you have time to read and fully understand what I am trying to achieve, I really need your help:
https://steemit.com/education/@marcosespes1/steem-as-extra-income-for-schools-and-students-around-the-world
I hope you can appreciate my basic ideas and give me some support (I haven't been very lucky so far...)
Wishing to hear from you soon,
A steem friend

Hi @marcosespes1 this is very interesting. I will go through this and get back to you as soon as I can. Good idea. I am sharing this in the education room in steemit chat to see how we can do this.

Oh... yes I remember that video. Yes sometimes we only follow majority. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67