Have you ever felt invisible as if you don't belong anywhere?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

                       

Image source

Have you ever felt invisible?


Have you ever felt invisible, as if you don't really fit in. In a group conversation you often say something valuable, and then you are ignored or just not noticed? Your try your best to talk sense, and to fit in with the rest of the conversation but it STILL  feels as if you are not heard? 

Image source

Perhaps you are part of a group of people I call misfits.  


A misfit is and intelligent person, with a lot of common sense, but they are just not noticed. Usually these are strong confident people, and they are able to do anything, but they just don't fit in anywhere really.

               

Image source

These kind of people make friends easily, but they are very weary of the people they choose as friends. If they have chosen a friend, they will usually go out of their way to do everything possible to support that friend. These "misfits" do not put up with nonsense, and they are not selfish, but people often think they are.  They do not follow trends or try to stay in fashion, but they are sometimes stepped upon, because people easily take advantage of them. These type of people often feel lost, as if they do not fit in anywhere, but they often have a burning desire to fit in, and because they are NOT noticed they are often left behind.  

Here are some more characteristics of a "misfit"


  • These type of people often feel angry at the world but in reality it is just the frustration building up of not really fitting in anywhere.
  • They are often seen as rebels, because most of these people have to fight to have normality in their own little worlds.
  • These people often prefer to be alone, and they don't mind being alone.  They don't need many friends or people to assure them who they are , because they can stand on their own two feet. 
  • They judge themselves harshly and are prone to depression, because they have such high standards, they often push themselves too hard, and feels as if they never get anywhere.  
  • These type of people are sometimes overly sensitive.  They get hurt easily when someone judge them and perhaps the fact that they are not noticed, plays a great roll in this.  
  • These type of people often need a specific purpose in life and they spend hours per day to try and reach their own self set goals.  They will constantly try and carry on endlessly until they reach their goals.  They are highly intelligent people and they do NOT give up.  

Ever heard the story of the ugly duckling?  These misfits, are the ugly ducklings of the world, and if you are an ugly duckling like me, just you wait...one day soon enough, you will turn into the most beautiful swan.  


               

Image source

If you enjoy my content, please follow me


Sort:  

OMG!!! That's really me! Especially when i pick up my kids from school..... im just the mom who doesnt have conversation with anyone (chit chat).... i just have different interest. Im not good in small talks like: nice weather huh? ... its just not me..... im just there to pick up my kids...... maybe they think im arrogant? Im not sure.....

well, I'm not a small talker myself. But I can see the usefulness of it, especially when I see it being employed by my wife. She is particularly adept at doing small talking that people open up to her naturally. I see small talking as a skill that I can never acquire. sob sob

I'm hopeless at small talk too but as with everything, practise makes.. Well if not perfect, somewhat less awkward, haha. My mother in law is simply amazing at it and like you, it was through watching a master at it that helped me appreciate its power (and desire it for myself mwahahaha).

It is a difference if you want to be good in small talks and want to make more new friends :-). I myself do not have that feeling of wanting to know people to be friends with. I also dont feel lonely when im alone :-). I can easily go to a restaurant all by myself and i love shopping alone. Maybe im weird. Its not that i dont care about other people. I always have a helping hand if people need my help. :-)

I don't think you are all too weird like that. I mean the spectrum of extroverted-ness to introverted-ness is huge. There's nothing wrong with you. It just means that you need more "me" time than the rest of the population.

I'm coming to the conclusion that nobody really likes small talk. People instead use it as a shield to hold other people at bay until they prove themselves trustworthy enough (or perhaps interested enough) to move on to medium talk, if not big talk. It might be worth the awkwardness of small talk if you have the chance to make a new friend. It's astonishing where genuine interest in another person can lead the conversation.

But of course, sometimes you just ain't got time for that, or you just don't gel with people, and that's totally cool too. :)

I know, people use it to start a "real" conversation. But i prefer to skip that part and directly go to the real conversation. But i am myself not a big talker and only talk when i have something valuable to say or when i have an important question. I also don't feel like making new friends in real life I guess, after finding out that in my past many people misused me. Friendship should be from the heart, helping eachother. Not only when you need someone. I helped friends in the past, but when i needed them, i couldnt knock on their door. Its sad, but its the truth.

People can indeed be disappointing. I understand your desire to protect yourself from further hurt. Thanks for your response to my barging in on your comment!

You just wrote about story of my life! But do I feel like misfit, no! I think my problem, and problem of so called misfits lays in overvalued ego. I can be great friend but in return expect same devotion and that's almost impossible. Older I get easier is to simply accept that I am not "standard" person, my mental flows are totally different, sometimes erratic. There is one more flaw in our character, we expect too much out of everyone and everything!

I am a misfit according to your description, not sure if that's a good thing or bad but I guess there's no way around it, I am going to have to live as an ugly duckling then till my moment if it comes.

I have been waiting for years....lol...still nothing...

Wow, you describe me

Yes. Agreed. I feel invisible too like a Clay Aiken fly on the wall.

Ha ha ha....Clay Aiken fly on the wall....you are hilarious!

then we are the same ....lol

Yes we are the same

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stefan.steynberg from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

some of my posts feel like that xD

Don't feel alone...I have been here for nearly ten months and I am still struggling. Now with all the minnowsupport some of the steemians that has been here for a very long time is pushed to the side to help the minnows. But we just continue like normal. Somewhere it will rectify itself again like always...

Thank you @giantbear,
this is words are more worth than steempower. Feel hugged ;D

You are no misfit, you are my child and you have always been wonderful. You do get moody, who does not. So dont think there is something wrong with you.
You are an excellent teacher and have braught up wonderful sons so nothing to worry about.

Feeling like a complete “misfit” so glad I found this, I really needed this today! ❤️

You are definitely NOT a misfit. You are perfect just the way you are!!

Thank you! I am new on here and feel so greatfull that I found your account! ❤️

Very good - I tend to end up with the "misfits" as friends. They are the ones who fascinates me and do not bore me - the ones with a different preseption on life. They know who they are and feel deeply - nice piece

Yes! I find misfits are the most trustworthy because they're not wearing a mask to fit in. In a way, everybody is a weirdo (I mean that as a compliment) and has their own unique perspective, but some really really hide it away. :/

Exactly...that is why you have me as a friend...I am a misfit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56263.97
ETH 2964.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18