From the mind of a teenager - Then and now

in #life7 years ago

Image source

On a Friday afternoon, usually during the last two periods of school, we are all tired and just not in the mood to do any school work.  We try and finish the work as quickly as possible, so that we can have a class discussion before everyone is off for the weekend. I try and find a rather safe topic to discuss, just so that things don't go too overboard , but you know, once a teenager has the opportunity to speak their mind, there is no stopping them. I hardly get in a word, and I usually just throw in some random questions and then the discussion carries on.  

Today, what started out as a normal discussion about the Ocean, ended up with Artificial intelligence. This usually happens, but I love the way these teenagers think and I feel that it is important for them just to have a chance to express their feelings and ideas.  I am often amazed at how these teenagers think.  These kids really have some great ideas, and most of them are excited about their futures.  They are all on the brink of adulthood and ready to spread their wings to fly. 

I often think about the time when I was a teenager.  Oh the things we did for fun, yes, even the naughty things. We were so care-free and excited about life, but we lived in a much safer world. We visited friends for days, and our parents were not worried.  They knew where we were.  There were no cellphones, so there was no way to reach us....but we were never far, because we enjoyed being at home.  Even though our parents were strict, and sometimes used corporal punishment, we still had manners and we were always considerate of others, because that is the way we were raised.  During the eighties we were still able to go out in the evenings.  We could even walk home safely afterwards.  

Today is different.  Kids today are not safe anymore.  We are totally stuck in an unsafe world.  Teenagers are exposed to drugs everywhere....and I am not talking about weed here. It is so sad that the world turned out this way.  Even though we have the best technology, and our intellect is far more advanced that before, I often think of the way it was before, and what these kids are missing in their lives.  

Sometimes I wish we could just turn back time, and perhaps I am just getting old, but I truly miss those care-free days!  When we were young we just wanted to grow up, and we had such big expectations, but society turned out differently.  It is a scary world out there!  

Protect your children to the best of your abilities!  Help them to have a care-free world again. Help them to be safe! 

Do you miss your teenage years?  

Image source

Please follow me 

Sort:  

Those were the days my friend.......

Haha love the end quote. Was not quite what i expected, but as long as you have a dream and willing to fullfil it... being older can bring blissful moments :)

I love the quote at the end.
It seems to me that part of societies problem is the forced exceptance of EVERYTHING. I remember being told life was a a smorgasboard, pick and choose what works for you. Although we were exposed to all typea of propaganda back then, the family unit was strong enough to keep most kids from falling into the abyss. The family unit is under pressure both socially and economically.
I am also interested to know if you ever get a chance to speak to these students down the road a few years and if they are still as excited and hopeful as they are right now or if the college machine has chewed them up and spit them out with the ever popular ,believe what we believe or you are worthless mantra.

I hear what you say, but do you know what is the most scariest for me today...that everything is acceptable. Anything goes and there is no clear difference between wrong and right, because everything is just accepted.

Very well written post! Its the only kind we have come to expect from you! :) I wish I was a teenager again even just for one day!

Thank you Lorenzo, how are you feeling today?

Ha haha, that quote in black is what I said long ago and somebody stole it!!

Ha ha...perhaps it was me! I'm glad I actually thought some people would be offended by it, but that is just how I feel..lol!

I certainly do. Those days were the days of "dream". We can live "care-free." We didnt have to worry about future, jobs and complex life that we are in. Great thoughts @giantbear

I loved being a teenager...in many ways I still am or at least think and feel like one!

Thats the best feelings!

I really hate that even in my hometown where I feel safe, it isn't safe for a child. My daughter can't run around the neighborhood free like I did as a kid because of sick people who would hurt a child. At our elementary schools, when past students are about to graduate at the age of 18 they have reunions so the kids can see their first teachers in life. It would be interesting if you got to do that to see how your students lives turned out.

Hi! We also have reunions. Luckily with technology today I can keep track of some students. Don't know if they want to keep track of me?? Lol! Its so unsafe and terrible these days. I stress about my child constantly. I know that he is 19 and I taught him well, but he is still and will forever be my baby. The world is soooo sick today, and people are killing this world a little bit more each day! How is your baby doing?

The world is a scary place. My baby is doing well. Thanks for asking. She learned to crawl and has been terrorizing the cats. She's a happy little thing though. Hope your "baby" 19 year old is doing well.

It's wonderful and terrible at the same time when a baby starts crawling. Now you have to babyproof everything and when they start walking...they also start running! Lol!

So your parents were not to bad, and really tried to protect and love you.

So very true indeed. It is a MUCH different world. As the parent of 2 teens, I am always thinking of how things have changed-in most ways for the worse. I dread what to think it will be like for THEIR teens...

God, I am so happy to be 30 now!

O wow, how I wish to be thirty again. If I just knew then what I know now, I would've changed the world.....

Right! aint that the truth, at least or own worlds!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62068.40
ETH 2417.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56