Tu ci credi in Babbo Natale? / Do you believe in Santa Claus? [ITA/ENG]

in #life7 years ago (edited)

ITALIAN Version

Stamattina ero mezzo addormentato alla fermata della Metro, quando un ragazzo (che prende tutti i giorni l'autobus con me e col quale ho scambiato qualche parola di tanto in tanto) mi saluta e mi fa una domanda che mi ha completamente spiazzato.

Tu ci credi a Babbo Natale?

Premessa: assumiamo per un attimo che la domanda non sia completamente fuori contesto (è ancora metà Ottobre dopo tutto) e di pensarci a mente lucida (cosa che ho fatto solo qualche minuto dopo... quando prendo la metro la mattina sono in uno stato mistico a metà tra il sonnambulismo e la contemplazione ascetica).

La mia risposta a caldo è stata, dopo un attimo di spiazzamento, "Ovviamente no".

CRACK.

Ho sentito qualcosa rompersi dentro di me. Cosa? Credo fosse la mia ingenuità di bambino.

Non ho mai detto ad alta voce di non credere a Babbo Natale, non mi è mai capitato fino ad ora. Gli ultimi anni della mia vita sono stati abbastanza stressanti, tra cambi di lavoro, traslochi ed il mio recente matrimonio; a trentatre anni so di aver abbandonato lungamente la mia adolescenza. Ho passato tutto il periodo dopo l'università con la consapevolezza di essere un adulto, con i doveri e le responsabilità degli adulti... ma non ho mai rinnegato il bambino che è in me, mai fino a questa mattina.

Forse è per questo che ci ho messo una decina di secondi a rispondere... e non per il sonno. Quel "CRACK" che ho sentito, era la consapevolezza vera e cruda che non sono più un bambino.

...sapete qual'è la cosa più strana?

Sceso dalla metro, dopo tutto il viaggio passato a rimuginare, ho avuto l'impulso irrefrenabile di tornare indietro, fermare quel ragazzo e dirgli "Non è vero! Ti ho detto una bugia! Io CREDO in Babbo Natale!". Non avrei dimostrato nulla, se non la mia immaturità (e probabilmente, anche una discreta dose di pazzia) ma era quello che mi sentivo di fare. Era l'appiglio di cui avevo bisogno, dopo aver compreso, tutto d'un tratto, di essere da anni sospeso sull'orlo di un precipizio fatto di responsabilità, dove ogni singola decisione andava pesata e ragionata, dove le minacce di ripercussioni erano dietro ogni angolo, dove il consumismo la faceva da padrone... tutte cose che non avevano senso quando eravamo bambini.

​Poi l'impulso è svanito ed è arrivata la consapevolezza.

E' vero, essere adulti è tutto questo. Ma non per questo dobbiamo pensare che il passato non sia mai esistito, che non potremmo mai più rivivere gli anni della nostra gioventù. Possiamo essere vecchi ma non dovremmo (o non possiamo?) perdere il bambino che è dentro di noi.

​Quindi, faccio un mezzo passo indietro.

Tu ci credi a Babbo Natale?

​No, non penso che Babbo Natale esista.
Ma mi riservo il beneficio del dubbio.


ENGLISH Version

This morning I was almost asleep waiting for the train, when a boy (he takes everyday the bus with me and we talked from time to time) greets me and ask me a question that completely stunned me.

Do you believe in Santa Claus?

A premise: just assume that the question is not completely out of context (we are in the middle of October of course) and think about it with a clear head (a thing that I did only a couple of minutes after... when I take the subway in the morning I'm always in a mystical state between the somnambulism and the ascetic contemplation).

My answer, after ten second aghast, was "Of course not".

CRACK.

I felt something breaking inside me. What? I believe that was my inner child "naivety".

I never told to someone that I don't believe in Santa Claus, it never happened before this moment. The last years of my life were stressful, I changed job, I was moving in the new house and I recently got married; I'm 33 years old and I'm aware that I left my adolescence behind me. I passed the period after my graduation at the university knowing that I was an adult, with adult duties and adult responsabilities... but I never denied the child inside me, never until this morning.

Maybe that's why I waited for ten seconds before my answer... that was not the sleepiness. That "CRACK" that I felt was the awareness, real and raw, that I'm not a child anymore.

...do you know what is the strangest thing?

When I got out from the train, after I passed all the trip thinking about it, I had an irresistible impulse to go back, stop that boy and tell him "That's not true! I told you a lie! I BELIEVE in Santa Claus!". That would have been useless and would have proved only my immaturity (and probably a good share of craziness) but that was what I felt to do. That was the hold that I needed, after I understood that I was suspended on the edge of a chasm made from responsabilities, where every single decision must be weighted and deeply tought, where every action could have a heavy impact, where the consumerism was everywhere... all things that didn't make any sense when we were child.

Then the impulse faded, and the consciousness took it's place.

It's true, being adults it's all this. But we should not think that the past was never there, and that we cannot live anymore the years of our youth. We can be old but we shouldn't (or we couldn't?) lose our inner child.

Therefore, I make an half step backward.

Do you believe in Santa Claus?

No, I don't think that Santa Claus exists.
But I want to have the benefit of the doubt.

Sort:  

Nella zona dove vivo io è più popolare Santa Lucia rispetto a Babbo Natale. I bambini ricevono i loro regali da lei nella notte tra il 13 e 14 dicembre. L'usanza deriva (se non mi sbaglio) da una festa contadina del passato che celebrava l'inizio delle giornate che sarebbero diventate più lunghe. Babbo Natale è sentito, ma non così tanto come il 13 dicembre qui.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $22.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57