Untold Stories of Unsuccessful Persons - Episode # 9 - Ramzan

in #life7 years ago
 PUBLISHED BY
@ghulammujtaba on Steemit Copyright © 2017 by Ghulam Mujtaba, All Rights Reserved.  


I met with another ordinary person today with an extraordinary story of his life. When I meet these people, I realize that this isn't me only on the earth who is having a difficult time but everyone, everyone is going through some tough situations/difficulties in his/her life! 

Let's see what Ramzan had to tell about his life! 

1) Where were you born and how did you spend your childhood? 

I was born in Muridke, a small city near Lahore. My father was a farmer and he had total 8 children, 7 daughters and me. As we were from backward area, I didn't get any formal education and learned how to read and write from a school teacher who used to come to our place and teach us all. As soon as I was 14, my father took me to his land and started the farming work with him. 

2) Were you satisfied with your father's decision? 

No, never. I either wanted to be a sportsman, like I was good in running and won several local competitions or I always wished to be a huge businessman. I wasn't made for farming but had to do because my father had already decided my fate. 

3) So how long have you been in this farming thing? 

For almost 30 years and could have continued the same if the land wouldn't have taken by the bank.

4) Why the bank took your land?

I had 7 sisters and 3 daughters, to arrange dowry for all of them, I had to take loan from the bank and pledged my land against that loan. I was able to deposit installments on time for almost 15  years but then one year, I suffered huge losses due to the low production of wheat. In order to cover that loss, I took another loan from a person on 30% interest. The bank refused to give me the loan as I had no other security to deposit. Things went worse and I couldn't pay both of the loans on time. So bank took my land and the person from whom I took the loan captured my house, so I, with my family migrated to Lahore and started living in slums. 

5) That's sad, so what did you do here in Lahore? 

Worked as a laborer, what else could have been done by an uneducated and unskilled person? Though I didn't get any formal education but I have always wished that my son could get good education but this also didn't happen due to the circumstances we were in. 

6) So what your son do?

He was killed, started working as a cobbler and one day, a man came and asked him to polish his shoes. He did and asked for money but instead of paying, he started abusing my son. People there told me that the man was drunk. When my son insisted and asked for money again and again, he took the gun and shot him! He had 4 children and I am the one who is taking care of them. I couldn't get justice as well, we were being threatened that if we go to the Police or Court, our whole family would be killed. Attending funeral of my son was the most painful thing in my life, I've never wished for a lot of money in my life but I want justice for my son!  

 

Please resteem if you like his story! 

@ghulammujtaba   


My last two Posts! 

Untold Stories of Unsuccessful Persons - Episode # 7 - Abdul Khaiq

Untold Stories of Unsuccessful Persons - Episode # 8 - Abdul Rauf

 

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ghulammujtaba from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This is quite incredible. This man has gone through a lot in life. The evil of interest is nothing but evil consequences. You took a loan to sort out your life then the interest accumulates over time. Then you fall in a maze where you're not able to get out.

@ghulammujtaba
Nice Post!
Thanks for sharing this.

Empathy will save the world. I wish banisters would read this. They tell themselves that people like this have done something to deserve their suffering.

I spent some time with homeless immigrants, many from Pakistan actually. At that time I was shocked to learn how "normal" they were.

You should go look for more followers, 200-300 isn't that much because some people don't check steemit and most are busy. You don't have to be divisive about it. Just go look for users you like and make friends with them. Support them and they might support you. I feel you have a lot to contribute to steemit and the world, good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66216.02
ETH 3547.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01