I am a girl, and this is how people judged me when I bought a condom!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Purchasing a condom can be a very awkward experience almost anywhere, especially for women. Unless you make a buy online, walking into a pharmacy or a store and asking for it can actually make you the center of attraction and all for the wrong reasons. What’s the fuss all about, eh?

There is no harm in embracing something that is good for health. Using protection while having sex is something that is taught since school time and it comes with no harm, right?

Using condom is a good sexual practice and must be encouraged. Instead of rolling their eyes, passing comments, staring and gossiping.

​People just could not stop staring at me

My sweetheart had once tested me to go and purchase a condom alone. I was to a great degree apprehensive and was bungling before the pharmacist. I could barely talk the whole word and needed to flee from the store. Other individuals present there just couldn't quit gazing at me, and some even began tattling. Luckily, the store assistant comprehended my shame and did not respond to the on-going circumstance. He grabbed one from the counter behind him, and offered it to me in a paper pack. I expressed gratitude toward him and hurried out of the store.

How a woman rolled her eyes!

I truly couldn't care less what individuals will think about me in the event that I purchase a condom. Everyone utilizes it, and what's off-base about it? I requested that my closest companion go with me when I went to purchase condoms out of the blue. We were in our mid-twenties around then, and couldn't control grinning. Indeed, even after true endeavors to look typical, we continued chuckling the whole time and the lady at the store really feigned exacerbation at us. Despite everything we giggle recollecting that occurrence. Why condoms, pills, et al, are given such exceptional treatment in our nation?

The pharmacist was bewildered

I plainly recall the day; it was an awful ordeal. I meandered around a drug store for around 20 minutes and held up till it became less swarmed. At that point, I strolled in unreservedly so I can get it without getting any undesirable consideration for purchasing a condom! However, obviously, the store chief's face had a peculiar appearance. I got aggravated before its finish. What was the utilization of sitting tight for so long when I needed to face such judgmental look? Had it been a person, the store administrator would have given him the comparative look too?

Everyone turned around!

I had no inhibitions in my mind when I went to purchase condoms for the first time. I considered it a ‘normal’ thing but did not know people around me would judge me for this. The store was somewhat swarmed and the minute individuals heard a female voice requesting condoms, everyone pivoted. They all were gazing me like anything, and I asked why? I set aside opportunity to comprehend what's happening and did not know how to respond for five seconds. I left the store. Presently, I either buy them on the web or from a grocery store.

Sort:  

That is really sad things have not progressed from this social taboo... when infact you are doing a good thing. Although I get that religion basically frowns upon birth control. Still; we as a society should not make anyone feel awkward for using and/or buying condoms.

Upvoted!

I'm surprised. I would not have thought that anyone would even notice if a female bought condoms.

Purchasing of condoms would just be an intelligent decision for any sexually active person.

Some people can be very ignorant.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by larissa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54