Sunflowers At Dusk

in #life6 years ago

Soul Soothing Beauty To End The Day


IMG_5863.JPG

Well, today has been another humdinger of a day my friends. Tuesdays are my long days at the library, so of course Moo Bear, my daughter's show steer, decided to pick this day to go walkabout. For four hours my distraught girl and half the neighborhood combed the forest looking for that naughty steer.

This inconvenient moo behavior tale has a happy ending though, for as I got to work and told my boss about our trauma, she got out her phone and texted my neighbor down the road who has a buffalo farm. Sure enough, Moo Bear has wandered onto their place and was waiting in the corral. My sweet neighbors even hauled him back to our place. It was a wonderful end to a potentially horrible thing!

That said, my nerves are a touch frayed, for the last forty-eight hours I have been doing everything from installing 1X6 boards in ninety plus degree heat on our 100X200 foot arena so the kids can have their beef show tomorrow night that I promised them, to prepping a BBQ for forty people. My whole family is a little on the worn out side these days.

After getting home late again, I grabbed my camera and wandered out to the garden. I have a bunch of sunflowers in bloom right now, and there is nothing like taking in a little bit of sunflower show-offery to brighten my mood.

IMG_5861.JPG

As a kid, all I knew about sunflowers is that there seeds came in a package and you could spit the shells at your brother and seagulls. There just aren't a lot of sunflowers in Southeast Alaska. Little did I know that one day they would be among my favorite things that I grow each year. No matter how big or little my garden is, there is always a patch of sunflowers growing.

IMG_5864.JPG

When I kept chickens I grew sunflowers, dried out the heads, and fed them to my girls all winter as a nutritious treat. I've been known to wander around with a spoon of sunbutter in my mouth, I guess instead of a pipe like one of my elders I will have a spoon hanging out of my maw. Heh. And don't get me started on the amazingness that is sunflower lecithin. There's a google search treasure hunt just waiting for any health nut or one in the making!

My salads are always adorned with a sprinkling of sunflower seeds. Well, okay, more like a dousing, and My kitchen and dining room are accessorized with blooms stuck in various crockery as soon as the flowers are available. Sunflowers are probably my favorite because they are always turned toward the light and droop a touch sadly in its absence. That's kind of my nature too.

And so, on this waning, yet stressful again evening, I just wanted to share some of my sunflowers with you. I hope that their visage brings you as much joy and peace as they do me. Or at least a touch of photographic enjoyment, I'm not too fussy:)

IMG_5865.JPG

Hope you all have a most pleasant night!


Want to read more @generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Wow sunflower flower photo , really nice . I like sunflower flower . This flower is very helpful . This flower is made of oil that is used for cooking .

Thanks for sharing @generikat

Thank you so much @powerupme! I love sunflower oil too😊

Oh you are busy sofar!! His what it sounds like! There is a farmer here that does his whole large tract in sunflowers. He rotates his crops so I dont think it is going to work for this year, but maybe soon.

I have yet to see a giant field of sunflowers in bloom, it is so on my list, I bet that field is gorgeous. I would be sad on crop rotation year, lol!

Well, today is the day, huge BBQ beef show time! I started off the day with a yellow jacket flying between my sunglasses and stinging me on my temple. Ouch! Hopefully that's not a sign of things to come😆

Maybe you better start chewing tobacco, you know to have a chaw on had for the next sting lol.

For me this is beautiful to start the day and you are right the sunflowers are beautiful I love that yellow color that their petals have
I would love to have one of these at home the sunflowers brighten any space

I hope you have a nice day

Oh I'm so happy you woke up to something so nice😊 Sunflowers are such lovely additions to any space indoors or out, I totally agree!

My day is going swell, hope yours is awesome!!!

There is something so bright and joyful about sunflowers. I thought of this canvas when you mentioned decorations in your home.

That is so purtiful!!!! Thanks for sharing, someday I hope to see a field like that IRL:)

beautiful photography,,,looks amazing

Sunflowers have always been really beautiful flowers, for images, for Valentine's days, for gifts and to adorn any place. It also has very useful properties. It is nice to know your fascination for this species, you must have a wide knowledge about them.

Ooh, I agree with your whole comment! Well, except the wide knowledge part, I still have plenty of learning to do about sunflowers for sure😊

Thank you so much for your excellent thoughts on the subject!

You are such a busy girl but bring the sunshine everywhere you go. Sunflowers are great and so I have been told the heads can cook up like artichokes. I wish I had planted a few in my garden but I did not learn that little snippet until recently. I bet you can eat the petals too ... wait I will google ... this just in ... they are edible from root to stem. Now what do you think about that? That is exciting or maybe I am nerd:) Bon appetite, Kat:)

Uffda! I got tired just reading about your day! So glad the errant bovine was found safe and sound and not far away. What a goat-ish thing to do, just strolling off like that! Love your sunflowers. I haven't planted any for several years, and I ought to next year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66