Sourjourning: San Diego Edition

in #life7 years ago

Snapshots From Day One Of My Getaway

IMG_5651.JPG

Ah, my dear Steemians! As I write this I might be nursing a bit of a back sunburn, for I failed it completely covering my sun-deprived, North Idaho dwelling carcass with enough sunscreen. However, the skin fryage was totally worth it!!

IMG_5656.JPG

On Wednesday, the date of my birth, I hopped a couple of planes and flew from North Idaho to sunny San Diego to visit my beloved nephew. This trip is way out of character for me, and it was also the first time in my whole life that I have ever traveled solo. As a mother, I found the whole experience rather relaxing because I only had to keep track of myself! Wow!

IMG_5669.JPG

My nephew lives a very spontaneous, cosmopolitan life. For the first day's adventure he led me down this precarious, cliff side trail to a beautiful beach that was almost completely empty. We spent the afternoon sprawled on a blanket sketching, listening to music, and nibbling on various comestibles. After 7 months without experiencing a temperature above 70 degrees, I was in heaven.

IMG_5670.JPG

I also discovered why there was a lack of patronage at said beach, for although we were clad in beach wear; most of the beach attendees were sans any attire. Apparently our chunk of coastal heaven was a relatively famous nude beach. I sketched the ocean.

IMG_5672.JPG

Tomorrow I get to help him photograph a wedding. This whole journey is full of surprises for me, and I can't wait to see what insights I'll glean on my San Diego safari in the next couple days!

IMG_5673.JPG

And as always, all of the pictures in this post were taken on the author's sand and roasted red pepper hummus covered iPhone!

Sort:  

Hehe i know which beach this is! Appears to have been a blissful day, yay!

It was so lovely! I'm really thankful that I got to visit it!😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42