Seed Packet Signaling

in #life7 years ago

The End Of A Gardening Sabbatical

I have a lot of garden seeds. In fact, I am a little fanatical about collecting them. I am sure that most whom read my blog can guess my affinity for the agricultural arts, but this year's seed delivery holds a special significance for me.

Last year I lost three family members in a six month period. One of them was only twenty years old. I know that death comes for us all, and I am not overly afraid of that fact, for it is the unavoidable task that we must all complete. The thing that was hard to bear was the pain of my loved ones. It was surrounded by this oppressive grief bubble that I made the decision to take a year off from gardening. This was like cutting off my left leg and then running a marathon, for it felt like something was missing, but my family and friends needed me more.

Instead of tending the fruitful rows of my half acre garden of happiness, I instead tended the broken hearts of people that I care about. I know I was grieving too, but I felt that I needed to be used as a conduit for grief and healing. I kept one family member busy, and was there whenever she needed to do something to keep her mind off of the fact that she had just lost her son to a senseless accident. Instead of the normal yearly ritual of hilling my potatoes I sat and listened to my Grandma relate stories collected from fifty plus years of marriage. Each day brought about different plants that needed watering and weeds that needed to be plucked, just not the physical kind.

I tended a different kind of garden last year, and in the process I received a soothing to my own grief. It is never wasted effort to give up something that you love doing, even temporarily, in order to help another.

This year's seed order that is sitting on my kitchen table symbolizes a return from the land of grief and loss to the physical land of renewal, growth, and harvest. The pain of loss will always be there, but I will bear it covered in soil!

In closing, this Kat hopes that you are all having an amazing evening, no matter where you are. I'll leave you with a bit of art. We had a Valentine's Day art party at the library today, and learned about Jim Dine. The kids talked me into painting hearts inspired by his art with them, here is my 10 minute masterpiece!


We hit the tempura paint and conversation hearts hard!

And as always, all of the pictures in this post were taken on the author's pink glitter paint smudged iPhone.

Sort:  

It sounds like you had a rough year, for sure. Your family was fortunate to have you there. Unexpected demands, changes, or even opportunities are one reason I grow and preserve a lot when I garden. Some years just don't lend themselves to having a big garden, but having put a lot of food by, or having some great storage crops, I can get through until the next season (well, that and eating a lot of weeds, lol). I hope this year's garden gives you some comfort and replenishes you and your larder!

Well, I don't know how fortunate they are, but they are stuck with me, so there's that! lol! It was really nice to rely on my larder and its bounty during that time, and it's also nice to have depleted it to the point that I have to grow a ton to rebuild my supplies! This year we are also, finally, putting in the root cellar that I have wanted forever! So excited! Thanks again, HH for your ever-encouraging words, they are totally appreciated!

Ha ha, and enjoy your dandelions!

That will be exciting to get your root-cellar. Here, I have a double-walled building that houses my irrigation well and pump, "the Pumphouse". It's got cedar shavings between the two walls as insulation and shelves for canned goods. It's great. But we only get down to -10F every now and again, and not for very long. With so much rain, an underground root cellar would be a lot more complicated. Every region has their own solution to the food storage challenge. Keep that larder stocked! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41