Scenes From Summer's End

in #life6 years ago

A Wedding And More Than A Bit Of Produce To Process


IMG_3478 (2).JPG

Our family spent the fourth week of August at the state fair, so it only made sense to we had to spend the last week of our summer getting ready for a family member's outdoor wedding. I mean, the planning was genius, we were already exhausted from animal showing, so why not add in an event that included the attendance of over a hundred people to that life stew.

IMG_3444.JPG

This past week involved very little rest or eating and a whole ton of to dos. I got to meet more people and serve more tacos that I ever have before. I'm actually really rather proud of those two accomplishments. It's always good to try new things and stuff.

IMG_3466 (2).JPG

On top of the wedding banana-ness, it's also time to get ready to head back to homeschool for the year, my kids both play football and volleyball, and oh yes, the gardens of North Idaho have blessed us all with abundance. I am personally overloaded with tomatoes, zucchini, and cucumbers, even after rehoming some, and my friend donated a large plethora of plums and pears to our food cause.

IMG_3481.JPG

Not that I am complaining, but boy was my kitchen counter starting to look like an unorganized produce department. The wedding wrapped up Friday, I had to work Saturday, and today I took a whole herd of teenagers to a movie and pizza because I 'promised" to do so. Yes, I know I am a sucker. The produce volcano got to me though, and upon arriving home from my bit of cinematic enjoyment I exploded into action and plunked all of the tomatoes into a stock pot to reduce.

Most of my canning methods revolve around my tendency to be a bit over-scheduled and propensity towards life task laziness. Thus, when I am faced with a pile of tomatoes, I just rinse them off, pluck out the stems, throw them skins and all in a stock pot, and let them reduce into a messy pulp. Then I run the goo through a food mill or sieve and can the resulting goodness. The resulting tomato stuff has all the flavor and goodness of a much longer to process sauce and is much less labor intensive to produce. I'll show how I process the tomatoes in tomorrow's post for those that may be interested.

IMG_3482.JPG

Then there were the plums. I live with a peanut butter and jelly monster. My gigantic eleven year old lives on PB and J's. His favorite sandwich, I kid you not, is peanut butter, strawberry jam, and salami. Weird, I know, but everyone's palate is a work of art I guess. Faced with a surplus of plums I instantly thought of the boy's predilection towards peanut butter and bread adorned with fruit spread and decided to turn the plums into butter. Then my laziness spoke to me again. I got out my crock pot, washed, cut in half, and pitted the plums, and put those little beauties into the crock on low. I'm going to let them stew all night and in the morning I will turn the resulting goo into the most delish plum butter and can it. And yes, I will post the recipe and method for the plum butter in tomorrow's post as well.

And on that lovely little future Kat-labor note I am going to sign off for the evening. It's definitely that time of year in our land, about six weeks are remaining before the snow usually flies, so it's preserve the harvest, put in firewood, do the required pre-winter maintenance on the farm time before we are buried for a few months. I am finding myself looking forward to mid October when I get it all done, for then this Kat might hibernate along with many of the critters.


And as almost always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's plum juice stained and tomato pulp saturated iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?


Click Here!

Sort:  

This cake is so yummy . I love chocolate cacke really . All food is healthy on health . Thanks for sharing @generikat

My friend made that wedding cake, and it was double chocolate and super yummy! Thank you so much for your kind words:)

Oh say it isnt soooo! six weeks sounds incredibly too close! Time is indeed flying, specially when one is busy!

I have to say I have never seen barbed wire on a wedding cake before! Surely adds a cowboy touch!

I know! The larch trees are turning yellow, and once they are all the shade of the sun it's usually only about 30 days til the snow flies, yikes!!!

That cake was country level extra westerny to the extreme, lol, I was just glad I had an up to date tetanus shot;o) lol!

Six weeks to snow. Wow. That is before Halloween even. I am fortunate where I am that Autumn is a super long season ... generally right into November and then it is the winter rains. I do not envy your long winter. I was born in Winnipeg and so I know my share of winter.

Plum butter ... that is a new one but I bet it would be marvellous on some toasted bread and with a cup of tea. I think I am hungry ... lol:) Please do show us the finished produce on the plums and the tomatoes:)

Yes ... six days and counting till the homeschooling supplies land at our house:):):)

On a normal year we tend to get our first dusting of snow before Halloween, and our staying for the duration snow by the second week of November. This year feels like it could be quite an interesting snowfest, the animals are doing their migratory behavioral things a few weeks ahead of schedule. Time will tell if we get one of our big winters. The last one that we had gave us snow clear into June!

Ooh, Winnipeg winters, that's enough to make me want to go put on fuzzy socks right now, lol! Glad you escaped to somewhere more temperate:) I will totally post the end result of my plum and tomato workings.

Also, I totally get excited about getting curriculum materials and school supplies every year, hope your school year is marvelous!

I agree, that is one unique wedding cake! Glad you figured out relatively-simple solutions to the inundation of tomatoes and plums. Our tomatoes are suddenly ripening, too, but I question whether there will be enough to do any preserving, since I planted in moderation. There sure are plenty of green ones, though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50