Oddball Anthology

in #life6 years ago

Volume 1: WIFI Spy Guy



Source

There's a whole lotta spying going on in this pic!

The other day I was sitting at my kitchen table with one of my dearest friends. She was enjoying a slice of apple crisp that I had placed in front of her while I regaled her with my interactions with the local wildlife that particular week. Suddenly, she stopped, placed her fork on her plate, and said,

"Kat, these sorts of situations seem to follow you around!"

She then went on saying that either I was a magnet for oddity or perhaps I just had a unique perspective on life that made everything a bit of an adventure. Or maybe both.

Upon hearing this pronouncement I spent a bit of time in self-reflection mode, and by a bit of time I mean about a nanosecond. While an entire post series could be spent on the reasons why my perspective is skewed all Kat-like, I rather decided in that moment that I should compile my oddball moments into blog posts and share them with my Steem friends. All righta!

To kick of the sharing of the weird, I just have to go with WIFI Spy Guy. This tale of preposterousness was relayed to me by my manager yesterday after she returned from our town's Chamber of Commerce meeting. She, Miss Margaret, and I were in the back office working on various librarian things when my boss suddenly said,

"Oh! I have to tell you about something!"

Of course Miss Margaret and I were all ears, and as the tale unraveled I had a slight moment of wonderment, for I thought perhaps I had developed a hearing problem.

"So, every few meetings, our local police department comes and speaks to us about things that have happened in the past quarter," she began, "Well, you remember those Christmas lights we hung in the trees on Maine Street last year?"

"Yep," I chimed in,"The clear twinkle ones?"

"Uh huh, well, they are battery powered so we could leave them in the trees until next Christmas. Apparently a man thought they were WIFI spying devices that listened to the locals so he ripped them all out of the trees."

So many thoughts ran through my head in that moment. One, how did the police relay this story with straight faces? Two, how much substance abuse would one have to inflict upon their carcass to think that clear twinkle lights were WIFI intercept devices. Three, well, I just lost it, had a good guffaw, and quipped.

"Just wait until he hears about the animatronic squirrels roaming our town!"

At this point I am pretty sure Miss Margaret needed oxygen supplementation as we imagined the poor cops arresting the twinkle light vandal and their attempt at reporting on the vandalism to the Chamber people who had paid for the lights. Apparently silence reigned when the story was relayed until a giggle fit was experienced by all in attendance at the meeting.

All I know is that I am definitely looking at those icicle lights that hang on the front of my house year after year in a whole new light!


IMG_3718 (1).jpg

These grapes aren't the only things that have come off the vine....

And in closing, this little diddy is swirling around my cranium:


Twinkle, twinkle little light

Now I wonder what you hear

Up above the sidewalk you glisten

Shining deviously while you listen

Twinkle, twinkle little light

It's going to be hard to sleep tonight...


And as always, unless otherwise cited, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's wi-spy hot spot capable iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Am I just getting way too old coz its seems like the world is off its rocker? It sure seems like there are more and more people that will believe any hair brained idea that comes along.

BTW I would eat those grapes till I was sick, they look that good :)

Nah, you're not getting old, I mean, I think there have always been people that are a bit off their level, but with the rise of the interwebs, all of the mental cornflakes have a platform on which to unite and thrive. Sometimes I want to start a conspiracy theory just for fun, to see if it would take off. It would have to be subtle yet off the wall in it's awesomeness. Perhaps one day when I am truly old I will have the time to develop that passion. LOL!

And I so would have given you all the grapes you could have handled, I juiced all of those things today, don't want to see a grape for awhile....

Like the song says "Just because you're paranoid, don't mean they're not after you"

Then again Kurt Cobain did a lot of drugs so who knows. Thanks for sharing Kat, good to know I'm not the only one who lives in a town full of nuts.

Heh, I love double negatives in lyrics, makes me want to shake my head;).

Sorry, I am loon, I mean that paranoid dude isn't the only nut in our town, right? If I recall correctly, you dwell in PA, which reminds me of a story of a dear friend from that state who thought it would be a good idea to pressure wash grass. I mean, since we are on the topic of special people and all. Thanks Chops!

Buy labels for them.

SCSS: Santa Claus Surveillance Services

Warning: tampering with these lights will result in a visit from Krampus.

That would be awesome! We should talk to someone, lol!

Friend, how are you? I love your stories, the things that happen to you and the environment in which these sometimes seem like a movie, it's your world is your perspective and it's just yours

I am wonderful, and I hope you are doing well too? Life is much more fun to go through if you don't get hung up on the mundane of it all and look for all of the weird and wacky that tends to go on around oneself. I am so tickled that you enjoy reading my ramblings. Have a great evening!!!

Very nice
Following done

Such a amazing post sir ....
Thanks for sharing @generikat

Oh, that is just TOO funny! People sure can be weird sometimes. Glad you got a good laugh for the day out of the story!

You know, I often wondered how my parents and grandparents figured out what us kiddos were doing when the Christmas tree went up. I always chocked it up to parental and second degree parental intuition - now I know better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86