Mind Enhancing Morsels-Family Gathering Hodgepodge

in #life6 years ago

Congregatin' For The Purpose Of Celebratin'


IMG_0877.JPG

My grandpa turned 80 this past Friday! And in the spirit of big family milestones, my dad planned a birthday brunch a local buffet chain restaurant. The prospect of crowding into a big dining room with all of my family members, some of which I haven't seen in over a year, was pretty exciting!

IMG_0889.JPG

Such a winter wonderland!

Of course, the weather decided to party too, and by party I mean be disgusting. In the last 24 hours we got well over a foot of snow, and the temperature plummeted right after that. The restaurant that we were to meet at is about a 45 minute drive from our house on a nice day. On a snow drift blowing, roadway full of non-used-to-the-snow-and-ice drivers day it takes more like an hour to get there. I just viewed our trip like a video game, and figured my elevated heart rate was just a little extra cardio! YAY!

Upon arriving we spent the next hour eating plate after plate of highly processed, super sodium saturated food and giggling like a bunch of hyenas in a trash compactor. It was while I was talking with my cousin who is expecting his first child that something dawned on me.

IMG_0875.JPG

The last time I had gotten together with all my family members, all of whom live within an hour's drive from me, had been over a year and a half ago. We all agreed that we shouldn't let so much time elapse between visits because we really enjoy each other's company when we all congregate. And our grandparents are getting quite elderly! I mean my Papa and grandma was just so full of joy being there with us all. We took a myriad of generational pictures, and told old tales, it was just a magical event.

I wonder how many other families don't get together too frequently as well? Does all the detritus of life distract us or at least my family from what is really important? Don't get me wrong, I have seen each one of those family members at various different times over the last year and a half, but a gathering of everyone is a fantastic thing of togetherness too.

IMG_0893.JPG

I'm thinking my driveway is most definitely snowmobile or horse and sleigh worthy at this point.

In the end, as I was driving home across the snow drifted road, I just kept thinking that I don't want my family to be adrift from each other too much. We all sat there and agreed that we needed to get together more, so I am going to do my part and be somewhat annoying about it by bringing the idea up at appropriate intervals. Cause nothing spells family more than some person being annoying.

IMG_0894 (1).JPG

The sky outside my bedroom window looks like the cotton candy that my son inhaled at the buffet!

Hope you all are having a spectacular Sunday spent in the company of those who adore or at least politely tolerate you, for it's as the Kacey Musgraves lyrics so wisely spout:

Family is family, in church or in prison
You get what you get, and you don't get to pick 'em
They might smoke like chimneys, but give you their kidneys
Yeah, friends come in handy, but family is family


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's slightly frozen but always in perpetual motion iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Nice to see your family had a nice time. Family get togethers always lead to some good old fashioned story telling and ball busting.

My family gets together all the time. Probably because most of us live within 5 minutes of each other. I'm one of the few who escaped living on some part of the farm. I made it two miles down the road.

I do have one uncle who left, the one who lives in Washington. He visits for a few weeks every year, then we get sick of him and tell him to go back to Washington. Well, at least I do. My grandma enjoys his company for some odd reason.

One quick story. When my grandma turned 80 (she's 91 now) we had a surprise party at the restaurant for her. We closed to the public, but it's a big family so the place was pretty full. Her traveling buddy took her out for the day and brought her back at the right time. They walk through the door, we all yell surprise, and grandma turns around and looks back at the door. She stands there scanning the parking lot. Then she turns back around with a confused look on her face. She thought she walked in on a party for someone else. Took her a minute to realize the party was for her. And it was on her actual birthday. Yep, she has a head of cabbage (her words not mine).

So funny. Great story. Love the Cabbage Head remark too. Hate to say it, but I did that at my OWN surprise birthday party. All forty or so people in the resteraunt room hollered, "Surprise". I said to my partner at the time, "It's a private party, we better get out of here".
"It's for you, goofy"
I was not even CLOSE to 80...oh well. The joys of life.

My mom wanted to have another surprise party when she turned 85. I talked her out of the surprise part. That concept was lost on her so it was easier just to schedule a regular party.

I'd tell my grandma she isn't alone, but she denies that it happened that way. She has a convenient memory. I wish we had a picture of her looking out the door.

Thanks for sharing your story.

Two whole miles! DANG! LOL

Your uncle paragraph reminds me so much of certain people in my family.

Awe, I love the brassica head thing, your grandma sounds awesome, and I am so happy she is still kicking and likes your uncle (someone needs to;o), I can just see someone looking around in confusion, wondering what the heck all the fuss is about, lol!

Well, chops, I am going to go put a heated rice bag on my ice bruised knee and watch some tv. Hmm. That unintentionally rhymed. I think I have been writing too much lately, or maybe shelving too many Dr Seuss books. Probably a bit of both. Hope you had a marvelous day, and keep that glistening dome of yours warm!!

I got some real chortles out of some of this..."Cause nothing spells family more than some person being annoying." So true, and so funny. Ya crack me up, g'K. Love the song lyrics too.

And on an UN-characteristically serious note, what you realized here during drift-driving, and say in the post is so very true. And so important. Family has always been huge with me. And our family is slowly dwindling, , and those still here I see much less than I would like. We're spread all over like a cheap mayonnaise. It is sad.

We used to get together more on larger family sojourns to different states or during Christmas as such. But after the matriarch and patriarch are gone, it seems to take more effort to make it happen. Or so it seems. Sad, but true. I think as you say, you have to make it happen with major planning.

And when it does, as you mentioned, there is NOTHING like it in the world. The 'high' I get from being all together cannot be met with any drug or whatever imbibance in the world. (As if I have SO much experience in that realm of things). So maybe I should change that. In MY world-book, there is no comparison. Just makes you giddy like a little kid, doesn't it?
Thanks for the nice post about a really important part of the world. -the non-magnetic H.S.

You are so right dd! I am always high-elated after a family gathering, there really isn't a feeling quite like it!

And you also are right about the dwindling thing, we lost a great aunt this past week, and it seems like a ton of our elders are at that age where one day they are with us and the next they have gone. We youngers are not as plentiful in number or proximity, and there is just this different vibe with our younger family members, I don't know, we all like each other and enjoy each other's company, we just don't prioritize family experience like our older members do.

Ooh, I totally waxed family-etic there! Of course, it was your wise words and ruminating that brought it out of me. I'm glad you liked my drift-driving" musings, I adored your response, as always.:o) Good night!

It’s like when you’re younger , everything is together and what not . But as we age, people separate , I always wondered why. But when we meet, it’s like we met just yesterday . Looks like you guys had a blast !!

You are so right! It's strange how people come apart like an emulsified salad dressing, only to be reblended once a special or tragic occasion strikes! We did have a great time, hope you are having a great day too:o)

Wow....such a wonderful and interesting ideas by @generikat mam...
Actualy I'm always appreciate and respect to ur uncommon ideas...
Wel done and execellent work mam...

Thank you @dini1, lol, I always appreciate your enthusiastic comments!

interesting day where everyone come together and share smiles and moment like these stay special forever great to see your post thanks for sharing it :)

Awe! Great to hear from you @blazing! Hope all is well:o)

Cause nothing spells family more than some person being annoying.

True that, lol! My mom and I used to make bets with my brothers that they could not annoy each other for a certain interval - we always won.

That is one exquisite cotton candy view from your house!

Ah! Good old fashioned family wagering! I might have engaged in such a thing a time or two, lol!

It is pretty out right now, but way too cold for my liking, maybe I should invent some peppery hot cotton candy to go with the view, heh!

Hope you and your most amazing wife had a lovely night!

say happy birthday to your grandpa
old people are the family guide gives the family more power

Oh! Thank you, I will!

And I so agree with you about our elderly family members, they are a font of excellence!

family is the gretest blessing of God, enjoy your life with your great family because you are lucky that you have a great family Your ideas and writing content is good keep it up I wish you all the bets

Ooh! I totally agree, and thank you kindly for your sweet compliments:o) Hope you are having a fine night!

thank you so much

Yes I miss a big family. I am an only child and most of the relations have dies off or are so far away, its about the same. Enjoy them while you can i say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98