Lego Batman Party

in #life7 years ago

At The Library!

It's Spring Break for the school kids here in North Idaho, and what did our amazing Youth Services lady do for the out of school youngsters? She scheduled a Lego Batman Party for our entire community!

This party was an extra special occasion, for it was the first time that I got to bring my daughter to work with me. She has been bugging me for years to come and help librarian. We recently got permission from our administration to bring our kids in to help out as volunteers. The glee expressed by my eldest when I delivered the news that she was allowed to come help with the party was beyond awesome!

I get to the library quite a few hours before it actually opens on Tuesdays, and I have to admit it was pretty fun having my Squeaky-girl with me. She was in a bit of awe as I disabled the alarm, fired up all of the equipment, ran reports, and went over basic opening procedures. We then opened the box labeled, "Lego Batman Party Decorations." Our first order of Library to Lego Bat Cave decorating was to turn all of the shelving end caps into gigantic black and yellow Legos with tablecloths and paper plates. I think that they turned out pretty well:

Our amazing children's librarian turned up at around ten, and we proceeded to unload all of the party "stuff" from the back of her vehicle. Whilst working on the party setup I might have cracked a lot of jokes about decorating for Lego Batman Prom.

A short while later we had:

A bat-selfie photo booth:

A couple of Lego brick play stations:

A Lego brick painting table:

A Lego pixel art station:

A superhero mask coloring table

The movie screen was set up and showing Youtube Lego clips. And last, but not least, was everyone's favorite table, the bat snack buffet:

Bat Kibble

Bat Wings

Catwoman's Claws

There was also Two-Faced Cookies and Joker Juice to round out the nibbles offered to our batlings and their caretakers.

As with any event offered to the public, there was no shortage of entertaining moments: Upset babies, multiple Joker Juice spills, Bat Kibble pigouts, and my all time favorite quote of the event.

There is this ten year old boy, Herman. He's been coming to the library his entire existence, and he is also quite a character. As I was scrubbing the 33rd crushed marshmallow of the day out to the carpet, Herman and one of his pals walked by me on their way out of the library. He said:

"It was fun while the snacks lasted."

HA HA! I love honest reviews!

The party was fun, but what was even more fun for me was showing my daughter much of what I do in a day. I taught her how to pull holds, properly check in materials, and pack the courier bins. She was so into the whole librarian volunteer day, and by the end of my shift I told her she had graduated from Junior to Senior Intern. One thing that I don't really understand is her fascination with the paper shredder, but there are things about me that probably confuse her as well. The is one sure thing however; we are both looking forward to our next library adventure together!

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's Bat Kibble encrusted iPhone.

Sort:  

Looks very entertaining. I'll have to read and respond tomorrow, as I'm off to bed. Have to get up at the crack of dawn tomorrow, whatever the crack IS. Have a good night.

Crack is the sound that joints make when you move upon the arrival of un-blissful consciousness! LOL!

I hope that you at least got a modicum of rest, I have to return to the former Lego Batman Cave here shortly, you know how it is, librarian by day....

Wow, that's deep. Is that an original KatQuote? (I'm probably showing my ignorance of the local library and it's "good things to read" program.
That Lego Batman party is awesome. And that fact that your daughter really enjoyed working with you on it is no doubt SO heartwarming. You're still a cool mom in her eyes, "way to go, Mom"!

And I now can say I know an official superhero person I can call upon whenever daring do is...due...? We'll call you "The Staid Librarian". I would continue on here, but might catch flack from other's of your ilk that possess no greater powers than the proper point location dynamics of the Dewey-Decimal....or from the National Librarian Society of North America. They don't mess about.

Thanks for sharing the party. Very creative. And next time you see Herman, tell him he rocks. That's an attitude I can really stand behind in a youngster... BatParty on.

Ha! Yes, that is an original Katism. Ask @jacobtothe about my wordisms, as strange word-like arrangements always spill forth from my mouth. I blame my Dad (his incessant nicknaming of things and general prattling had an impact) and an eternal love for all things literary most likely contributed as well.

Today, I used one of my librarian super powers, I paper mached the air out of some helpless balloons so that they can be painted like eggs in an upcoming craft class. There was an obnoxious patron bothering one of my co-workers out front, and I had visions of paper macheing that ill-mannered lout to the bulletin board in the children's section. That would be cool, right?

I'm super happy that my girl thinks that I am fun still, I know the time is coming when that might not be a thing, but then I can take great joy in causing her and her acolytes social discomfort. Yay!

Thank you so much for your Bat-tastic comment! I always look forward to them:)

Also. Herman is totally one of my favorite patrons. He will give me the Doh! look the next time I see him and tell him that someone on the internet thinks he rocks. Excellent!

Ah, yes. Herman. I remember him.

And there is something cathartic about shredding paper.

I have shredded so much that perhaps I needed to see the joy that it brought to another to remember its cathartic glory once more....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55