Homestead Hodgepodge

in #life6 years ago

Beef Show Edition


IMG_2968 (1).JPG

Good Evening Steemlings!


Let me take a moment here to shout it out, I DID IT!

Way back in January when I held my first 4-H market beef meeting, I asked my beeflings what they would like to do during our 4-H project year. The resounding chorus that hit me full force at the kitchen table was, "Have our own beef show!" They say that a sucker is born every day, I like to think of myself more as a Kit Kat bar....

Never one to want to disappoint hard working adolescents, I made a commitment to have a beef show on my place in July for my beeflings. Livestock shows require a few things, namely an arena and a judge, and as I didn't have those two things on hand, I definitely had my work cut out for me.

IMG_8205 (3).JPG

When the John Deere hat and sunglasses are donned it's usually work time!

The arena presented a bit of a logistical quandary. I've had the railroad ties in the ground for the arena corners for years. I have this perfectly flat pasture out on the southwest boundary of my farm that I have had dreams about having an arena in for years. It's close to the water and electricity at the barn too, and visions of nighttime barrel racing have danced around the edges of my irises for many moons.

However, lumber is expensive, especially the number of pressure treated posts needed for an arena, but I am a saver and there is a post mill just down the road from us that would sell them to me wholesale, Yay!

IMG_2947.JPG

Fast forward to June, our flatbed trailer was pulled out into our pasture full of pressure treated posts. Soon, all of the posts were put in a 100 by 200 foot rectangle and I started to feel confident. Just maybe I could pull this beef show thing off.

IMG_2949.JPG

The next financial obstacle was the required 222 1X6 boards needed for the railings. The economy is a touch on the hot side, especially the real estate and construction sectors, which of course means the price of lumber is just a tad on the north side of ridiculous. There was a budget justification combat match nightly in my cranium trying to crunch the numbers in a way that didn't cause my heart and/or pocket book to fail, when one evening our neighbor showed up unannounced.

Our neighbor, Bobcat Bob as I christened him years ago, has a sawmill. He also needed a wood deck for one of his flatbed trailers and wanted to buy a couple of fir logs off of us to mill into planks for his trailer. My brain jumped on this wooden opportunity faster than a beagle on a grounded cheeseburger at a BBQ.

"I'll give ya the tree if you mill me some 1X6's!"

Bobcat Bob broke into a big ol smile, as he is cheaper than the bark on a Jack Pine log, a personality trait that I admire. The next morning he received two export grade red fir logs and the following week he started bringing me loads of freshly cut 1X6's. Life was good.

Well, it was a little hot too, as my crew went out in the 90 plus degree heat to put the railings up on the arena. It was hot, dusty work, but by this last Tuesday evening, one whole railing was up around the arena, 600 linear feet worth of lumber.

IMG_2945.JPG

We also got the arena rototilled. Our land is where the great Glacial Lake Missoula must have had a nice sandbar eddy in the wane of last ice age, because my ground is a silty pile. I prefer the silt over a rock patch like many around here have, but boy does the stuff dry out to a flour powder in the summer time. All day yesterday I watered that arena with sprinklers, hoping to cut the dust, for the beef show was to commence at seven last night.

Being a little lacking in the sanity department, we also scheduled my husband's final shooting sports meeting of the season and a BBQ along with the beef show. I mean, that sounds like fun right? A guest speaker, dinner, and a moooovie!
I did the math and anticipated about forty people would be at our home around six last night. Nope, my final count was 67! Thank goodness my meat freezer is full of beef!

IMG_2962.JPG

A stupid amount of BBQ'd hamburgers and hot dogs later, I wandered over to the arena to check my show preparing beeflings. About twenty people followed me, as most of the shooting sports parents were intrigued by the 1300-1500lb animals that were parading around in my functional arena. It was the moment of truth.

IMG_2977.JPG

This was how I looked in situ last night, a blur called Kat!

Guess what! Our event went smashing. Yes, there was a bit of dust, and right now most of North Idaho is gnat-topia, but, the kids had a blast, our guest judge that one of the beefling's mothers rounded up was amazing, and there were all around smiles beaming when people weren't picking gnats out of their teeth.

IMG_2970.JPG

My girl and her Moo Bear did awesome!!

I also invented a new bug repellent on the spot, and will share the recipe with you all in a future post after more field testing. The stuff worked so good that one of the parents was slathering the concoction onto her arms. Most insect repellent is just that, repellent in every form of the world. I get that sometimes DEET is necessary, but you can't put any of that stuff on livestock. Heck, you can't even spray it were they eat! So I am pretty excited about the concoction.

IMG_2957.JPG

Crazy Cora modeling how tired we all are...

All in all, last night was a success. We got plenty of thank yous, Facebook accolades, hugs, and appreciative text messages last evening about our efforts, so even though I am sitting here in a post event fugue of exhaustion, I am truly happy that my beeflings apprecitated our efforts. Sometimes, it is all worth it.


And as almost always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's almost BBQ'd but still kickin iPhone.


Want to read more @generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Quite the adventure for an evening's event! I'm curious now the concoction you made. I'll give you my recipe for yours... ;-)

Oooh, lol! As I read your reply I just kept hearing the phrase, I double dog dare ya! 😆

I'll totally post the recipe, although, I am sure yours is far, far better, as mine was just thrown together with what I had on hand. Can't wait!

You give me FAR too much credit... Mine stemmed from a conversation with @fernowl13 in response to a photo I posted. I'll comment to your recipe post with ours which we have our friend make for us.

Oh, I bet your spray is just bananas good! Can't wait to see that comment, hello grateful upvote!!

Nice discription , good writing . I hope you enjoy your family . Congratulations you could achive everything .

Thanks for sharing @generikat

Awe, thank you for reading and replying! I'm glad you enjoyed the post, and I super enjoy my family. Well, most of the time, sometimes I want to throw flour or mud at them, but I think that is normal in most families, lol!

Hope you have a splendid weekend my friend!

Congratulations for your successful beef show/shooting/bbq/hootananny. Throwing big shindigs is a lot of work, but it's worth it if everyone has a good time.

The gnats are awful here too. Worse than usual. I feel like pigpen from Peanuts when I'm outside.

Thanks Chops! I was glad that everything came together too, and instead of feeling like Pigpen, I am pretty sure I actually resembled him that evening, dirt, gnats, and all.😆

I'm sorry that you are plagued too, but you made me laugh with that descriptive visual, so there's that!

The yellow jacket plague is the worst right now. I need to go out and water the garden, but I am a little gun shy after getting stung on the temple last time. Ugh, I need to borrow a couple hundred ravenous chickens for the week, pecked Earth time:)!

Oh, that made me laugh! Such a great visual!

Hello how are you? How is everything? I see that very well I'm glad that everything went very well, a lot of dust and work but at the end everything is fine, I am very nice everything

I hope you find yourself well, I send you greetings @generikat

Hi there! I am doing super well, in fact, I am going to be doing really well in a few as I am going to go take a nap. After this week's excitement I am super tired!

How are you doing? Are things going well in your part of the world? I sure hope so:)!

Congratulations you could achieve with effort everything is possible also you had many people supporting you that's good the truth is very nice sure the effort was worth it

Crazy Cora if she knows how to model

Ha ha! Yes, Crazy Cora definitely knows how to show off!

Thank you so much for the kind words, it really was a fun time and I am glad that everyone enjoyed themselves. I so hope you have an excellent weekend!

I am SO glad your event was a huge success, and that you survived! I look forward to admiring that arena in person one of these days.

Thank you! I am glad that I survived too, although there were a few times I did wonder if we were going too, lol!

My neighbor cut the rest of the boards, so I hope to get them all hung up this week, it's going to feel good to get that project finished:)

Girl ... when you do community, you do community. BBQ for 67 people ... that is a like a scene from Dallas. Moo Bear sure is getting big. I like that your daugher is happy with the outcome of the event and I love how the circumstances worked out around the boarding cutting.

Dallas! *snort, Pryde, you just made my day:)

Well, I might have done some grumbling as I did my community thing, this girl is not all Katnip and cakes these days, but I am happy about how things turned out for sure.

Hope you are having a splendid weekend!!

You too:):):)

When you put your mind to something, we can consider it done, cause where there is a will you will find the way! I am sure your beeflings appreciated your efforts. 🐓🐓

You are so sweet! I can't say there wasn't a bit of overwhelmed grumbling along the way, but you are so right, everything sure did come together, and it was totally worth it cause my beeflings liked the effort:)

The amount of work y’all are willing to take on never ceases to amaze and inspire me. Bravo for a job well done! Makes me miss my work days on the dairy farm.

Awe, you are too kind! I am just impressed that you miss your dairy farm work days, that is an amazing amount of work!

I'm in 4-H too. I do sewing. I'm a Cloverbud, but next year I'll be in real 4-H. I want a milk cow someday and I would train it. -Wildstyle

That is awesome!! I bet you will do an awesome job showing your breeding stock at the local fair when and if you get it, good luck!!!

And I am super impressed that you are doing sewing:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01